Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
1920: The Year of the Six Presidents

1920: The Year of the Six Presidents

by David Pietrusza
1920: The Year of the Six Presidents

1920: The Year of the Six Presidents

by David Pietrusza


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, September 28


The presidential election of 1920 was one of the most dramatic ever. For the only time in the nation's history, six once-and-future presidents hoped to end up in the White House: Woodrow Wilson, Warren G. Harding, Calvin Coolidge, Franklin Delano Roosevelt, Herbert Hoover, and Theodore Roosevelt. It was an election that saw unprecedented levels of publicity — the Republicans outspent the Democrats by 4 to 1 — and it was the first to garner extensive newspaper and newsreel coverage. It was also the first election in which women could vote. Meanwhile, the 1920 census showed that America had become an urban nation — automobiles, mass production, chain stores, and easy credit were transforming the economy and America was limbering up for the most spectacular decade of its history, the roaring '20s. Award-winning historian David Pietrusza's riveting new work presents a dazzling panorama of presidential personalities, ambitions, plots, and counterplots — a picture of modern America at the crossroads.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780786721023
Publisher: Basic Books
Publication date: 04/07/2008
Pages: 592
Sales rank: 471,337
Product dimensions: 6.25(w) x 9.25(h) x 1.62(d)

About the Author

David Pietrusza or edited over three dozen books. His Judge and Jury: The Life and Times of Judge Kenesaw Mountain Landis captured the 1998 CASEY Award. He was an editor of Total Baseball, the Official Encyclopedia of Major League Baseball. Pietrusza's more recent book, Ted Williams: My Life in Pictures, was written with Ted Williams. He lives in upstate New York.

Customer Reviews

Explore More Items