B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!
A Psalm of Storms and Silence

A Psalm of Storms and Silence

by Roseanne A. Brown

Narrated by Jordan Cobb, A.J Beckles, Bahni Turpin

Unabridged — 14 hours, 52 minutes

Roseanne A. Brown

Audiobook (Digital)

Free with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription | Cancel Anytime

$29.99
FREE With a B&N Audiobooks Subscription| Cancel Anytime
$0.00

Free with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription | Cancel Anytime

View All Available Formats & Editions
START FREE TRIAL

Already Subscribed? 

Sign in to Your BN.com Account


Listen on the free Barnes & Noble NOOK app

FREE

with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription

Or Pay $29.99

Overview

The highly anticipated second-and final-book in the immersive fantasy duology inspired by West African folklore that began with the New York Times bestselling A Song of Wraiths and Ruin, from author Roseanne A. Brown. Perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi, Renée Ahdieh, and Sabaa Tahir.

Karina lost everything after a violent coup left her without her kingdom or her throne. Now the most wanted person in Sonande, her only hope of reclaiming what is rightfully hers lies in a divine power hidden in the long-lost city of her ancestors.

Meanwhile, the resurrection of Karina's sister has spiraled the world into chaos, with disaster after disaster threatening the hard-won peace Malik has found as Farid's apprentice. When they discover that Karina herself is the key to restoring balance, Malik must use his magic to lure her back to their side. But how do you regain the trust of someone you once tried to kill?

As the fabric holding Sonande together begins to tear, Malik and Karina once again find themselves torn between their duties and their desires. And when the fate of everything hangs on a single, horrifying choice, they each must decide what they value most-a power that could transform the world, or a love that could transform their lives.



Related collections and offers

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

Praise for ASOWR: “An explosive, stunning fantasy debut… Brown’s world building is diverse and brimming with political intrigue, magic, and a burgeoning romance in the best of ways. Notably, Brown uses a lush fantasy backdrop to poignantly discuss real-world issues.”
ALA Booklist (starred review)

“Revitalizing and exciting, Brown’s debut breathes life into ancient but still relevant folk stories.”
Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“An action-packed tale of injustice, magic, and romance, this novel immerses readers in a thrilling world and narrative tantamount to that of Children of Blood and Bone.”
Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“A supernatural love story inspired by West African folklore and dripping in political commentary and modern parallels.”  — BookPage (starred review)

"This epic story is brimming with trickster spirits, rich culture, and an organically developing romance that make every twist and turn more interesting than the last….Brown’s novel will easily fit on shelves next to other great West African–inspired fantasies like Adeyemi’s Children of Blood and Bone and Ifueko’s Raybearer, and the ending makes it apparent that Malik and Karina’s story has (thankfully) only just begun." — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books (starred review)

“Will leave readers wanting more.... This will appeal to those who love gentle male protagonists, strong female leads, and worlds filled with magic!” — School Library Journal

“A rapturous love story with wickedly delicious magic and bloody stakes”   — Dhonielle Clayton, New York Times bestselling author of The Belles series

“A refreshing, immersive debut that should be on every fantasy lover’s shelf, A Song of Wraiths and Ruin introduces a dazzling new talent in Roseanne A. Brown” — Kiersten White, New York Times bestselling author of And I Darken

“With the heart-pounding action of Children of Blood and Bone, the magic of Spirited Away, and the twisty alluring intrigue of Game of Thrones, A Song of Wraiths and Ruin is a MASTERPIECE.” — Brittney Morris, author of SLAY

"A dazzling debut, sparkling with delicious magic, romance, and intrigue. Brown weaves a story that will sink its teeth into you and won't let go, even after the last page." — Swati Teerdhala, author of The Tiger at Midnight

"Set in a world of ancient magic, Brown spins a fantastical tale that is full of heart, adventure, and intrigue. Readers will delight in the lush details of a world and characters so vividly drawn that they leap off the page." — Rena Barron, author of Kingdom of Souls

ALA Booklist (starred review)

Praise for ASOWR: “An explosive, stunning fantasy debut… Brown’s world building is diverse and brimming with political intrigue, magic, and a burgeoning romance in the best of ways. Notably, Brown uses a lush fantasy backdrop to poignantly discuss real-world issues.”

Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books (starred review)

"This epic story is brimming with trickster spirits, rich culture, and an organically developing romance that make every twist and turn more interesting than the last….Brown’s novel will easily fit on shelves next to other great West African–inspired fantasies like Adeyemi’s Children of Blood and Bone and Ifueko’s Raybearer, and the ending makes it apparent that Malik and Karina’s story has (thankfully) only just begun."

Brittney Morris

With the heart-pounding action of Children of Blood and Bone, the magic of Spirited Away, and the twisty alluring intrigue of Game of Thrones, A Song of Wraiths and Ruin is a MASTERPIECE.

Dhonielle Clayton

A rapturous love story with wickedly delicious magic and bloody stakes”  

BookPage (starred review)

A supernatural love story inspired by West African folklore and dripping in political commentary and modern parallels.” 

Kiersten White

A refreshing, immersive debut that should be on every fantasy lover’s shelf, A Song of Wraiths and Ruin introduces a dazzling new talent in Roseanne A. Brown

Swati Teerdhala

"A dazzling debut, sparkling with delicious magic, romance, and intrigue. Brown weaves a story that will sink its teeth into you and won't let go, even after the last page."

Rena Barron

"Set in a world of ancient magic, Brown spins a fantastical tale that is full of heart, adventure, and intrigue. Readers will delight in the lush details of a world and characters so vividly drawn that they leap off the page."

School Library Journal

02/01/2022

Gr 9 Up—Karina lost everything—her kingdom, her throne—and her only path to getting it back is the divine power in the long lost city of her ancestors. Consequences from the first novel have thrown Sonande into chaos as disasters rain down upon the fragile peace. With Karina the key to fixing it, Malik will have to find a way to lure the woman he tried to kill back to his side. Despite a heavy dose of miscommunication, Brown's characters continue to shine and her representation of mental health is both dark and respectful. The first entry in this West African folklore–inspired fantasy duology was on a number of anti-racist reading lists in 2020 and is worth having on the shelf. VERDICT An ending that is hopeful rather than strictly happy, this duology is perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir's "An Ember in the Ashes."

Product Details

BN ID: 2940172903380
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 03/04/2022
Edition description: Unabridged

Related Subjects

Customer Reviews