Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More


by Chiquis Rivera Chiquis Rivera


by Chiquis Rivera Chiquis Rivera


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, October 10


After the internet storm of jeers and boos that greeted Chiquis Rivera's raw debut single "Paloma Blanca" in 2014, she would have been forgiven for never releasing another record. But when your mother was the firebrand Jenni Rivera, surrender is not in your DNA. Her debut album, Ahora, is a diverse, bilingual set of banda tunes that range from the classic (opener "Amor Eterno" by Juan Gabriel) to the modern ("Completamenta") to retro-Spanish pop ("CPR"). Along the way, Rivera revisits Tomas Mendez's beloved "Paloma Negra." This version, a duet with Julio Reyes, is a thorough revisioning of the song, remade with a hip-hop beat atop the brass chart, filled in by funky synthesizer and her rapping at the end. There are three versions of "Esa No Soy Yo" (including pop and English takes), as well as the stomping dance anthem closer "Paper Bullets," in which Rivera takes on her detractors in the most direct and affirmative way. Throughout, her singing is more disciplined and focused. Despite the wide range, or perhaps because of it, Ahora gives the distinct impression that this is the record Rivera had to make to prove something -- to herself. While Sony will be able to market two or three more singles from the set, it's her bravery and growing sophistication that are most impressive.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 06/02/2015
Label: Sony U.S. Latin
UPC: 0040232181313
catalogNumber: 321813
Rank: 142143


  1. Amor Eterno
  2. Esa No Soy Yo
  3. Aprovéchame
  4. Paloma Blanca (Vuela Libre)
  5. Suéñalo
  6. Completamente
  7. Feliz de la Vida
  8. La Malquerida
  9. Esa No Soy Yo
  10. Ahora
  11. Paloma Negra
  12. CPR
  13. I'm Not That Girl
  14. Paper Bullets

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Chiquis Rivera   Primary Artist
Sergio Cárdenas   Accordion
Claudia Brant   Background Vocals
Sebastián Jácome   Instrumental
Julio Reyes-Rosas   Background Vocals
J.P. Acosta   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Cesar Sanchez   Art Direction
Alberto Aguilera   Composer
Ulises Lozano   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Ximena Muñoz   Composer
Shari Short   Composer
Femke Weidema   Producer
Claudia Brant   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Vocal Production Assistance
Gabriela Villalba   Composer
Guillermo Rosas   Executive Producer
Gil Cerezo   Composer
Victor Cordero   Composer
Maurilio Pineda   Arranger,Composer
Marcela De La Garza   Composer
Sebastián Jácome   Arranger,Composer,Engineer
Andres Torres   Composer,Producer
Julio Reyes-Rosas   Composer,Vocal Producer,Vocal Production Assistance
Janney Marin   Composer,Executive Producer
Henry Niller   Graphic Design
Gloria Trevno   Composer
Oscar Troya   Additional Production
King Swift   Additional Production
Juan Gaccio   Engineer
Sebastian J   Producer,Engineer

Customer Reviews