Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
All These Bodies

All These Bodies

by Kendare Blake

Narrated by Matt Godfrey

Unabridged — 7 hours, 19 minutes

Kendare Blake
All These Bodies

All These Bodies

by Kendare Blake

Narrated by Matt Godfrey

Unabridged — 7 hours, 19 minutes

Kendare Blake

Audiobook (Digital)

$20.99
FREE With a B&N Audiobooks Subscription| Cancel Anytime
$0.00

Free with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription | Cancel Anytime

START FREE TRIAL

Already Subscribed? 

Sign in to Your BN.com Account


Listen on the free Barnes & Noble NOOK app

FREE

with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription

Or Pay $20.99

Overview

* Indie Next List Pick * Indie Bestseller *

Sixteen bloodless bodies. Two teenagers. One impossible explanation. In this edge-of-your-seat mystery from #1 New York Times bestselling author Kendare Blake, the truth is as hard to believe as it is to find.

Summer 1958. A gruesome killer plagues the Midwest, leaving behind a trail of bodies completely drained of blood. 

Michael Jensen, an aspiring journalist whose father happens to be the town sheriff, never imagined that the Bloodless Murders would come to his backyard. Not until the night the Carlson family was found murdered in their home. Marie Catherine Hale, a diminutive fifteen-year-old, was discovered at the scene-covered in blood. She is the sole suspect in custody.

Michael didn't think that he would be part of the investigation, but he is pulled in when Marie decides that he is the only one she will confess to. As Marie recounts her version of the story, it falls to Michael to find the truth: What really happened the night that the Carlsons were killed? And how did one girl wind up in the middle of all these bodies?



Related collections and offers

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly

07/05/2021

Through an assured voice and a vividly wrought small-town atmosphere, Blake (the Three Dark Crowns series) swiftly draws readers into this tense historical thriller inspired by a real-life murder spree. In the summer of 1958, the Bloodless Murders, so dubbed for the string of human victims found drained of their blood, strikes fear in the Midwest. When the bodies of the Carlson family are discovered in Black Deer Falls, Minn., there’s a break in the case in the form of Marie Catherine Hale, 15 and white, who’s found covered in blood at the scene of the crime. As the public pressure for answers mounts, Marie—in custody at the local jail—will only speak with 17-year-old Michael Jensen, a white aspiring journalist who’s also the sheriff’s son. After she offers up an impossible-seeming explanation, truth-obsessed Michael must determine whether she’s being honest or exploiting his trust in her. Though the duo’s taut back-and-forth can feel repetitive, the prosecutor’s push to try Marie in a state where she’s eligible for the death penalty keeps the stakes high throughout this well-crafted mystery for fans of In Cold Blood and None Shall Sleep. Ages 14–up. Agent: Adriann Ranta Zurhellen, Foundry Literary + Media. (Sept.)

From the Publisher

"Fantastically disturbing and expertly eerie." — Stephanie Garber, #1 bestselling author of the Caraval series

“A chilling psychological thriller that effectively pulls from true crimes, folklore, and urban legends.” — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“An insightful look at our morbid curiosity about murderers.” — Kirkus Reviews

"Through an assured voice and a vividly wrought small-town atmosphere, Blake swiftly draws readers into this tense historical thriller inspired by a real-life murder spree." — Publishers Weekly

“Reads like true crime. A chilling descent into the human psyche.” — Booklist

“Timid, polite Michael and bold, headstrong Marie carry the story forward on their own.” — School Library Journal

Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

A chilling psychological thriller that effectively pulls from true crimes, folklore, and urban legends.

Stephanie Garber

"Fantastically disturbing and expertly eerie."

Booklist

Reads like true crime. A chilling descent into the human psyche.

Booklist

Reads like true crime. A chilling descent into the human psyche.

Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

A chilling psychological thriller that effectively pulls from true crimes, folklore, and urban legends.

Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

A chilling psychological thriller that effectively pulls from true crimes, folklore, and urban legends.

School Library Journal

08/01/2021

Gr 8 Up—Michael Jenson has always wanted to be a journalist. Over the course of the summer in 1958, Michael has followed what the newspapers have dubbed "the Bloodless Murders"—a string of violent murders across the Midwest where the victims have been found with every drop of blood drained from their bodies—and his daydreams of stumbling across a story this huge grow by the day. Then the unthinkable happens. Michael's small Minnesota town is rocked when the Carlson family is found murdered in their living room, drained of all their blood, with 15-year-old Marie Catherine Hale found lingering in the next room, drenched in blood. Suddenly, Michael is thrust into the national spotlight when Marie insists that she will only tell her story to him. Blake based this story on the real-life murder spree of teenagers Charlie Starkweather and Caril Ann Fugate and the murders of the Clutter family in Holcomb, Kansas. The protagonists are well-developed—timid, polite Michael and bold, headstrong Marie carry the story forward on their own. The scenes in which Marie is recounting the murders to Michael are easily the book's most riveting. Despite the fascinating inspiration and characterization, the novel overall suffers from uneven pacing and a repetitive narrative. However, readers may find the true crime aspect and vague supernatural layer thrilling enough to enjoy the book. VERDICT A quick murder mystery that may not satisfy hardcore thriller fans but will no doubt be extremely popular due to its macabre plot. —Tyler Hixson, Brooklyn P.L..

Kirkus Reviews

2021-06-29
A “nobody from nowhere” gets the scoop of a lifetime.

A paperboy and aspiring journalist in 1959 Black Deer Falls, Minnesota, 17-year-old Michael Jensen’s heard about the previous summer’s killings known as the Bloodless Murders or Dracula Murders. The body count so far is 12 blood-drained corpses found across the Midwest. Then blood-drenched 15-year-old Marie Catherine Hale is discovered at the scene of the Carlson triple homicide in Michael’s hometown. Ultimately unknowable Marie—cast as something of a femme fatale in contrast to Michael’s bland, Everyman foil—doesn’t deny her involvement but won’t identify her much-mythologized accomplice. Infuriating an ambitious district attorney, the police, and national news reporters, Marie chooses to tell her slippery, shifting, and allegedly supernatural story solely to Michael. More of a sympathetic confessor than a callous interrogator, Michael works to tease out Marie’s motives even as his community and the world question his entanglement with the case. Although she inserts a supernatural element, Blake otherwise grounds the true-crime–style tale—which acknowledges the influence of Truman Capote’s In Cold Blood—in real-life issues like domestic abuse, poverty, privilege, and sexism. Paradoxically, even as the book scrutinizes the darker human appetite for serial killers, criminal escapades, and vengeance, it caters to these same urges. The enigmatic ending might leave readers without resolution, but like Marie’s “truths,” the full story may never be known. Main characters read as White by default.

An insightful look at our morbid curiosity about murderers. (map, author’s note) (Thriller. 14-adult)

Product Details

BN ID: 2940173174376
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 07/07/2022
Edition description: Unabridged

Customer Reviews