Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
American Idiot

American Idiot

by Green Day Green Day
American Idiot

American Idiot

by Green Day Green Day

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record - 180 Gram Vinyl)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, March 30


If you had to pick one band to don the "least likely to create a rock opera" mantle, Cali-punk trio Green Day would be among the most logical candidates. That makes the existence of American Idiot something of a surprise -- and the excellence of its contents little short of a revelation. There are no half measures on the sprawling disc. Billie Joe Armstrong has created a full slate of characters and given considerable thought to their back-stories -- heck, he even dug out a glockenspiel to add dramatic tension to the nine-minute epic "Jesus of Suburbia." Thing is, Armstrong and company haven't lost their snotty Gilman Street edge in the process -- as evidenced by the snarling, expletive-laced title track and the made-for-pogoing sing-along "Extraordinary Girl." While there's obviously a political subtext running through the disc, Armstrong seldom gets so specific that the disc will sound dated come the next election cycle. Instead, songs like the Clash-styled "Are We the Waiting" and the spare ballad "Wake Me Up when September Ends" delve into adult-oriented emotional distress with the same sort of incisiveness the band once applied to teen angst. While there are occasional lapses into utter excess -- "Boulevard of Broken Dreams" encroaches on show-tune territory -- American Idiot packs enough power, both sonically and emotionally, to make it worthy of extended play (and consideration for a 2004 time capsule).

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 11/03/2009
Label: Reprise / Wea
UPC: 0093624979890
catalogNumber: 517552
Rank: 1452


  1. American Idiot
  2. Jesus of Suburbia: Jesus of Suburbia/City of the Damned/I Don't Care
  3. Holiday
  4. Boulevard of Broken Dreams
  5. Are We the Waiting
  6. St. Jimmy
  7. Give Me Novacaine
  8. She's a Rebel
  9. Extraordinary Girl
  10. Letter Bomb
  11. Wake Me Up When September Ends
  12. Homecoming: The Death of St. Jimmy/East 12th St./Nobody Likes You/Rock
  13. Whatsername

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Green Day   Primary Artist
Tré Cool   Drums,Vocals
Billie Joe   Guitar,Vocals
Rob Cavallo   Piano
Mike Dirnt   Bass,Vocals
Billie Joe Armstrong   Guitar,Vocals
Kathleen Hanna   Vocals,Guest Appearance
Jason Freese   Saxophone

Technical Credits

Tré Cool   Composer
Green Day   Composer,Producer,Audio Production
Doug McKean   Engineer
Rob Cavallo   Producer,Audio Production
Bill Schneider   Guitar Techician
Mike Dirnt   Composer
Chris Bilheimer   Art Direction
Mike Fasano   Drum Technician
Billie Joe Armstrong   Composer
Reto Peter   Engineer
Kenny Butler   Drum Technician
Chris Dugan   Engineer

Customer Reviews