B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!
Bright Burning Things

Bright Burning Things

by Lisa Harding

Hardcover

$21.49 $26.99 Save 20% Current price is $21.49, Original price is $26.99. You Save 20%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, July 5

Overview

Notes From Your Bookseller

A blazing meteor of a novel from a literary star on the rise about alcoholic mother and former starlet Sonya, who fights for a relationship with her son — as well as a second chance at life. Convincing, compelling characters and stunning prose combine in this heart-rending window into the explosive combination of addiction and motherhood. Bright, Burning Things is an emotional and nuanced approach to hard-hitting subjects, and author Harding pulls from her own acting experience for a cinematic and authentic novel. For fans of Shuggie Bain and Three Women, this one will make the tears fall.

A READ WITH JENNA BOOK CLUB PICK AS FEATURED ON TODAYA PEOPLE MAGAZINE PICK * AN INDIE NEXT PICK * A LIBRARYREADS PICK *AN AMAZON EDITORS PICK

“On every page there are little shimmering bombs. Like Room, where parenthood is at once your jail and your salvation, it is almost claustrophobic—but in the most glorious way.”—Lisa Taddeo, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Three Women and Animal

A rising international literary star makes her American debut with this visceral, tender, and brave portrait of addiction, recovery, and motherhood, as harrowing and intense as Shuggie Bain.

Sonya used to perform on stage. She used to attend glamorous parties, date handsome men, ride in fast cars. But somewhere along the way, the stage lights Sonya lived for dimmed for good. In their absence, came darkness—blackouts, empty cupboards, hazy nights she can't remember.

What keeps Sonya from losing herself completely is Tommy, her son. But her immense love for Tommy is in fierce conflict with her immense love of the bottle. Addiction amplifies her fear of losing her child; every maternal misstep compels her to drink. Tommy’s precious life is in her shaky hands. 

Eventually Sonya is forced to make a choice. Give up drinking or lose Tommy—forever.

Bright Burning Things is an emotional tour-de-force—a devastating, nuanced, and ultimately hopeful look at an addict’s journey towards rehabilitation and redemption.

A MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK FROM: Washington Post, The Millions, PopSugar, Shondaland, Good Morning America, Nylon, Good Housekeeping, Town & Country



Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780063097148
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 12/07/2021
Pages: 336
Sales rank: 33,244
Product dimensions: 6.20(w) x 8.80(h) x 1.30(d)

About the Author

Lisa Harding is a writer, actress, playwright. She received an MPhil in creative writing from Trinity College Dublin in 2014. Her short stories have been published in the Dublin Review, the Bath Short Story Anthology, HeadStuff, and Winter Papers. Her first novel, Harvesting, won the 2018 Kate O'Brien Award and was shortlisted for an Irish Book Award and the Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year Award. She lives in Dublin.

Customer Reviews

Explore More Items