Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Chocolate a la Murder

Chocolate a la Murder

by Kirsten Weiss

Narrated by Emily Durante

Unabridged — 8 hours, 33 minutes

Kirsten Weiss
Chocolate a la Murder

Chocolate a la Murder

by Kirsten Weiss

Narrated by Emily Durante

Unabridged — 8 hours, 33 minutes

Kirsten Weiss

Audiobook (Digital)

$23.49
FREE With a B&N Audiobooks Subscription| Cancel Anytime
$0.00

Free with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription | Cancel Anytime

$24.99 Save 6% Current price is $23.49, Original price is $24.99. You Save 6%.
START FREE TRIAL

Already Subscribed? 

Sign in to Your BN.com Account


Listen on the free Barnes & Noble NOOK app

FREE

with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription

Or Pay $23.49 $24.99

Overview

Maddie gets rattled by a candy-coated murder

It's Wine and Chocolate Days in San Benedetto, and paranormal museum owner Maddie Kosloski has sweet dreams about her new Magic of Chocolate exhibit. Her latest attraction is a haunted Mexican whisk called a molinillo that rattles if someone lies. When Maddie visits the town's new boutique chocolate shop, she finds one of the owners dead and covered in melted cocoa.

Maddie's determined to catch the killer, and she soon uncovers deadly dealings in the world of artisan chocolate. But the deception surrounding those dealings are enough to make the molinillo rattle all night. Will Maddie have to temper her passion for sleuthing before a killer makes her fate a bittersweet one?



Related collections and offers

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

Praise for the Perfectly Proper Paranormal Museum Mysteries

Déjà Moo

"The third volume in this engaging series (following Pressed to Death) will appeal to fans of paranormal cozies by Sofie Kelly and Christy Fifield."—Library Journal

"Weiss' many quirky ongoing characters add charm and humor."—Kirkus Reviews

Pressed to Death

"Well-drawn characters and tantalizing wine talk help balance the quirky aspects of this paranormal mystery."—Publishers Weekly

The Perfectly Proper Paranormal Museum

"A delightful new series."—Library Journal (starred review)

"A quirky murder mystery with plenty of small town charm."—ForeWord Reviews

"A clever combination of characters."—Kirkus Reviews

"Humor, hints of romance, and twists and turns galore elevate this cozy."—Publishers Weekly

Library Journal

03/01/2019

Maddie Kosloski, owner of the paranormal museum in San Benedetto, CA, has the perfect exhibition for the town's Wine and Chocolate Days. But the delicacies ordered from Reine Chocolates haven't arrived, so Maddie offers to pick them up for her business and her friend's tea room. Yet no one seems to be at Reine, other than a picketer. Maddie suddenly loses her taste for chocolate when she finds a man covered in it behind the vats, and the 911 operator asks her to do CPR. She can't forget the murder. And although she's dating a police detective, she asks enough questions that someone attempts to run her over, and she believes she's being followed. Despite warnings from her mother, the police, and even signs from her cat, Maddie's convinced that by finding the body, she's supposed to be part of solving the murder. VERDICT Weiss's follow-up to Deja Moo blends a strong sense of place with paranormal elements in a small-town cozy mystery. Fans of Juliet Blackwell or Christy Fifield will enjoy the supernatural aspects, while Dorothy St. James's chocolate-loving readers will want to sample this one.—Lesa Holstine, Evansville Vanderburgh P.L., IN

Kirkus Reviews

2018-12-11

A wine and chocolate fest brings plenty of business and a chocolate-dipped murder to San Benedetto, California.

Maddie Kosloski has added a Magic of Chocolate exhibit to her paranormal museum and is feeling good about the museum and life in general, with her best friends, Adele and Harper, always on hand to help. All is ready except for the delivery of chocolate from Reign, the local artisanal chocolate store. Tired of waiting, she decides to go pick it up only to find a man covered in chocolate lying on the floor, and her best efforts at CPR don't work. The first officer on the scene is Detective Laurel Hammer; a bully in high school, she still hates Maddie, especially since Maddie has been dating Detective Jason Slate. The dead man is Atticus Reine, co-owner with Orson Malke of the chocolate shop, which has gained a great reputation. Maddie has never been able to pass a murder by (Deja Moo, 2018, etc.), and this time is no different even though it's difficult for Jason to have his girlfriend as witness and sleuth. Although she dearly loves her friends, she and Harper are being driven crazy by Adele, whose wedding plans are constantly changing as problems arise and she nitpicks every decision. Still, Maddie finds time to speak to Orson and his wife, Lola, and Atticus' wife, India, who all worked in some capacity at Reign. There is also one employee they fired who was picketing when Maddie arrived, but he is not first on her list of suspects—especially once Tilde, the bookkeeper at Reign, is murdered and Maddie herself has a few suspiciously narrow misses. Although there are only a few serious candidates, Maddie must winkle out the truth before she becomes the next victim.

Driven by its quirky characters, this series offers plenty of whimsy but not much mystery.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940170752270
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Publication date: 03/08/2019
Series: Perfectly Proper Paranormal Museum Mysteries , #4
Edition description: Unabridged
Sales rank: 1,112,702

Customer Reviews