Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, April 6


Jazz musicians are lucky when it comes to recording holiday music. When Christmas rolls around they have the chance to dig into such classic, beautifully constructed songs as “I’ll Be Home for Christmas,” “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas,” and “White Christmas,” not to mention Mel Tormé’s perennial “Christmas Song.” Add in gems like “Christmas Time Is Here” (of Charlie Brown fame), “Let It Snow,” and Frank Loesser’s “What Are You Doing New Year’s Eve?” and you have the makings of a terrific album, which is just what Diana Krall finds herself with as she dips into this repertoire on her aptly titled Christmas Songs. Backed by the swinging Clayton-Hamilton Jazz Orchestra and aided by arrangements from Johnny Mandel and others, Krall turns in joyful and affecting performances, relishing the high quality of the material. This isn’t heart-on-your-sleeve singing -- Krall is much too subtle for that -- but neither is it emotionally distant. Sweetly playful at times, inwardly expressive at others, Krall consistently demonstrates the superior vocal skills that have made her a modern crossover icon. In an era of stentorian pop divas, she knocks ‘em dead with a whisper. This delightful project can stand next to the very best jazz holiday recordings.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 11/01/2005
Label: Verve
UPC: 0602498821213
catalogNumber: 000471702
Rank: 99976


  1. Jingle Bells
  2. Let It Snow
  3. The Christmas Song
  4. Winter Wonderland
  5. I'll Be Home for Christmas
  6. Christmas Time Is Here
  7. Santa Claus Is Coming to Town
  8. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas
  9. White Christmas
  10. What Are You Doing New Year's Eve?
  11. Sleigh Ride
  12. Count Your Blessings Instead of Sheep

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Diana Krall   Primary Artist,Piano,Vocals,Soloist
Alan Broadbent   Piano
Jeff Hamilton   Drums
Russell Malone   Guitar
Rickey Woodard   Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone,Soloist
Richard Todd   French Horn
Robert Hurst   Bass,Double Bass
Clay Jenkins   Trumpet
Rick Baptist   Trumpet
Gilbert Castellanos   Trumpet,Soloist
Jeff Clayton   Flute,Alto Saxophone,Soloist
John Clayton   Bass,Conductor,Double Bass
Sal Cracchiolo   Trumpet
Assa Drori   Concert Master
Keith Fiddmont   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone
Johnny Mandel   Conductor
Joe Meyer   French Horn
Ira Nepus   Trombone,Soloist
Joe Porcaro   Percussion
Emil Richards   Percussion
Brad Warnaar   French Horn
Randy Waldman   Keyboards
Ben Wolfe   Bass,Double Bass
Tommy Johnson   Tuba
Anthony Wilson   Guitar,Soloist
Stefon Harris   Vibes
George Bohanon   Trombone,Soloist
Tamir Hendelman   Piano,fender rhodes
Charles Owens   Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone
William Barnhart   Trumpet
Gerald Clayton   Piano
Adam Schroeder   Bass Clarinet,Baritone Saxophone

Technical Credits

Leroy Anderson   Composer
Irving Berlin   Composer
Vince Guaraldi   Composer
Mel Tormé   Composer
Frank Loesser   Composer
Felix Bernard   Composer
Sammy Cahn   Composer
John Clayton   Arranger
J. Fred Coots   Composer
Kim Gannon   Composer
Haven Gillespie   Composer
Walter Kent   Composer
Tommy LiPuma   Audio Production
Johnny Mandel   Arranger
Hugh Martin   Composer
Mitchell Parish   Composer
Schmitt   Engineer
Jule Styne   Composer
Robert Wells   Composer
Diana Krall   Arranger,Audio Production
Hollis King   Art Direction
Ralph Blane   Composer
Lee Mendelson   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Hannah Teare   Wardrobe Assistant
James Pierpont   Composer

Customer Reviews