Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Complete BBC Sessions [Deluxe]

Complete BBC Sessions [Deluxe]

by Led Zeppelin Led Zeppelin
Complete BBC Sessions [Deluxe]

Complete BBC Sessions [Deluxe]

by Led Zeppelin Led Zeppelin


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, October 5


Back in 1997, Led Zeppelin released BBC Sessions, the band's first attempt to chronicle its heavily bootlegged live recordings for the British Broadcasting Corporation. That double-disc set didn't contain all of Zep's BBC Sessions: a full nine songs from 1969 were left behind, including three songs recorded in March -- a session highlighted by the otherwise unavailable original "Sunshine Woman" -- that were believed to be lost. The 2016 triple-disc set The Complete BBC Sessions adds those songs as a third disc to a remastered version of the original 1997 compilation, an addition that doesn't greatly alter the overall picture of Zeppelin's BBC Sessions but offers a whole lot of additional value. Without those sessions, the compilation remains a stellar showcase of Led Zeppelin in ascendancy but with them the portrait deepens, particularly in how "Communication Breakdown" winds up being a place for the bandmembers to stretch their legs, incorporating covers or even interpolations of their own songs; it's a place where their intensity is married to their thirst for adventure. Elsewhere, there are plenty of extended blues jams -- "I Can't Quit You Baby" and "You Shook Me" from the lost March 1969 session are condensed and sound all the more powerful for it; similarly, the woozy rearrangement of Robert Johnson's "Travelling Riverside Blues" resonates because it's concise -- but the music that hits hardest remains the live-wire rockabilly ("Somethin' Else") and revved-up blues-boogie, the latter coming to the forefront on the otherwise unavailable "The Girl I Love She Got Long Black Wavy Hair" and that unearthed "Sunshine Woman," a throwaway raver that shows just how loose, muscular, and invigorating Zeppelin were at the outset.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 09/16/2016
Label: Atlantic
UPC: 0081227943899
catalogNumber: 556277
Rank: 21416


Disc 1

  1. You Shook Me
  2. I Can't Quit You Baby
  3. Communication Breakdown
  4. Dazed and Confused
  5. The Girl I Love She Got Long Black Wavy Hair
  6. What Is and What Should Never Be
  7. Communication Breakdown
  8. Travelling Riverside Blues
  9. Whole Lotta Love
  10. Somethin' Else
  11. Communication Breakdown
  12. I Can't Quit You Baby
  13. You Shook Me
  14. How Many More Times

Disc 2

  1. Immigrant Song
  2. Heartbreaker
  3. Since I've Been Loving You
  4. Black Dog
  5. Dazed and Confused
  6. Stairway to Heaven
  7. Going to California
  8. That's the Way
  9. Whole Lotta Love (Medley: Boogie Chillun/Fixin' to Die/That's Alright M
  10. Thank You

Disc 3

  1. Communication Breakdown
  2. What Is and What Should Never Be
  3. Dazed and Confused
  4. White Summer
  5. What Is and What Should Never Be
  6. Communication Breakdown
  7. I Can't Quit You Baby
  8. You Shook Me
  9. Sunshine Woman

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Led Zeppelin   Primary Artist
Dave Lewis   Session Musician

Technical Credits

Willie Dixon   Composer
J.B. Lenoir   Composer
Jimmy Page   Composer
Robert Plant   Composer
Jake Holmes   Inspiration
John Paul Jones   Composer
John Bonham   Composer
Jeff Griffin   Producer
Robert Johnson   Composer
Pete Ritzema   Engineer
Sharon Sheeley   Composer
John Walters   Producer
Tony Wilson   Engineer
Bernie Andrews   Producer
Paul Williams   Producer
Barry Plummer   Cover Photo,Sleeve Photo
Chris Walter   Cover Photo,Sleeve Photo
Andie Airfix   Artwork
Jean-Pierre Leloir   Cover Photo,Sleeve Photo
Pennie Smith   Cover Photo
Dick Barnatt   Sleeve Photo
Joe Young   Engineer
Drew Griffiths   Engineer
John Estes   Composer
Bob Cochran   Composer
Brendan Ryall   Retouching

Customer Reviews