Buy One, Get One 50% Off Our Monthly Picks!
Shop Now
American Experience: The Gold Rush

American Experience: The Gold Rush

Michael Murphy
Director: Randall MacLowry Cast: Michael Murphy
Michael Murphy
, Isabel Allende
Isabel Allende
Randall MacLowry


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, June 1


In the late 1840s San Francisco was little more than a quaint seaside village of 800, and few could have foreseen that remarkable future that fate held in store for sleepy community. Soon after gold was discovered in the American River, however, the rapid growth that followed would alter the course of an entire nation. By early 1854 San Francisco was well on its way to becoming the economic powerhouse that it is today. In this documentary, filmmakers take an informative look back at that crucial era of development with original recreations and rare daguerreotypes that truly transport the viewer back to one of the most vital and transformative eras in American history.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 11/21/2006
UPC: 0841887007979
Original Release: 2006
Rating: NR
Source: Pbs (Direct)
Region Code: 1
Time: 2:00:00
Sales rank: 59,645

Special Features

Portrait gallery; Map of California gold discoveries

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Michael Murphy Narrator
Isabel Allende Interviewee

Technical Credits
Randall MacLowry Director,Producer
Michelle Ferrari Screenwriter
John Kusiak Score Composer
Laura Longsworth Producer
Jon Neuberger Editor
Neil Reichline Cinematographer
Michael Rossi Associate Producer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- The Gold Rush
2. Taking a Chance [2:44]
3. The Discovery of Gold [11:25]
4. Americans Catch Gold Fever [13:39]
5. Forty Niners [4:38]
6. Anti-Foreigner Sentiment [6:47]
7. San Francisco Booms [5:45]
8. A Miner's Life [13:05]
9. A Woman's Role [5:28]
10. The Legend of Joaquin Murrieta [5:31]
11. Failure at the Mines [7:09]
12. Native Californians' Struggle for Survival [10:25]
13. Transforming San Francisco [5:03]
14. Chinese Immigration [6:49]
15. Admitting Failure [8:43]
16. New Beginnings [3:37]
17. Credits [3:11]

Customer Reviews