B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!
The Secret of NIMH

The Secret of NIMH

Elizabeth Hartman
Director: Don Bluth Cast: Elizabeth Hartman
Elizabeth Hartman
, Dom DeLuise
Dom DeLuise
, Hermione Baddeley
Hermione Baddeley
Don Bluth

Blu-ray (Wide Screen)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, July 7


Frustrated with the Walt Disney studio's reluctance to produce full-length animated films, Don Bluth and a number of animators left the studio in the early '80s with the intent of creating movies in the style of Disney's classics. The Secret of NIMH is the first film Bluth produced after leaving the studio. Adapted from Robert C. O'Brien's acclaimed children's book Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of N.I.M.H., the film is about a widowed mouse whose home is threatened; also, one of her children is gravely ill. On her way to find help, she discovers NIMH, a secret society of highly-intelligent rats who have escaped from a nearby science lab. The rats help the widow to protect her family and home.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 03/29/2011
UPC: 0883904232292
Original Release: 1982
Rating: G
Source: Mgm (Video & Dvd)
Region Code: A
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Time: 1:23:00
Sales rank: 12,385

Special Features

Audio commentary with Don Bluth and Gary Goldman; Secrets behind the Secret featurette ; Original theatrical trailer

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Elizabeth Hartman Mrs. Brisby
Dom DeLuise Jeremy
Hermione Baddeley Auntie Shrew
Arthur Malet Mr. Ages
Peter Strauss Justin
Derek Jacobi Nicodemus
Paul Shenar Jennar
John Carradine Great Owl
Shannen Doherty Teresa
Wil Wheaton Martin
Jodi Hicks Cynthia
Ian Fried Timmy
Tom Hatten Farmer Fitzgibben
Lucille Bliss Voice Only
Aldo Ray Voice Only
Edie McClurg Miss Right

Technical Credits
Don Bluth Director,Producer,Screenwriter
Bill Butler Cinematographer
Will Finn Animator,Screenwriter
Gary Goldman Producer,Screenwriter
Jerry Goldsmith Score Composer
Heidi Guedel Animator
Tom Hush Special Effects
Rich Irvine Executive Producer
Emily Jiuliano Animator
Joe Jiuliano Cinematographer
Skip Jones Animator
Dan Kuenster Animator
D.A. Lanpher Special Effects
Jeff Mellquist Cinematographer
Linda Miller Animator
Dan Molina Asst. Director
David Molna Animator
Jeffrey Patch Editor
John Pomeroy Producer,Screenwriter
Lorna Pomeroy Animator
Dave Spafford Animator
James L. Stewart Executive Producer
Kevin M. Wurzer Animator

Customer Reviews