B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!
Enough Already: Learning to Love the Way I Am Today

Enough Already: Learning to Love the Way I Am Today

by Valerie Bertinelli


(Not eligible for purchase using B&N Audiobooks Subscription credits)
$19.99 $27.00 Save 26% Current price is $19.99, Original price is $27. You Save 26%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, June 29



Beloved actress, Food Network personality, and New York Times bestselling author Valerie Bertinelli reflects on life at sixty and beyond.

Behind the curtain of her happy on-screen persona, Valerie Bertinelli’s life has been no easy ride, especially when it comes to her own self-image and self-worth. She waged a war against herself for years, learning to equate her value to her appearance as a child star on One Day at a Time and punishing herself in order to fit into the unachievable Hollywood mold. She struggled to make her marriage to Eddie Van Halen — the true love of her life — work, despite all the rifts the rock-star lifestyle created between them. She then watched her son follow in his father’s footsteps, right up onto the stage of Van Halen concerts, and begin his own music career. And like so many women, she cared for her parents as their health declined and saw the roles of parent and child reverse. Through mourning the loss of her parents, discovering more about her family’s past, and realizing how short life really is when she and her son lost Eddie, Valerie finally said, “Enough already!” to a lifelong battle with the scale and found a new path forward to joy and connection. Despite hardships and the pressures of the media industry to be something she’s not, Valerie is, at last, accepting herself: she knows who she is, has discovered her self-worth, and has learned how to prioritize her health and happiness over her weight. With an intimate look into her insecurities, heartbreaks, losses, triumphs, and revelations, Enough Already is the story of Valerie’s sometimes humorous, sometimes raw, but always honest journey to love herself and find joy in the everyday, in family, and in the food and memories we share.

“This thoughtful, bighearted book is sure to be a hit with Bertinelli fans and those with an appetite for stories of hard-won self-acceptance. A warmly intimate memoir.” 

– Kirkus Reviews


“In a series of brutally frank essays, Bertinelli looks back on the emotional struggles and triumphs of her life. By turns raw and inspiring, this contains a little bit of wisdom for everyone.” 

– Publishers Weekly

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780358567363
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 01/18/2022
Pages: 256
Sales rank: 926
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.80(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

VALERIE BERTINELLI is the Emmy Award–winning host of the Food Network shows Valerie’s Home Cooking and Kids Baking Championship. She is the author of the #1 New York Times bestsellers Losing It, and Finding It, plus fan favorites Valerie’s Home Cooking and One Dish at a Time. She has starred in TV classics One Day at a Time and Hot in Cleveland

Table of Contents

A Note from Me 1

Before You Begin, a Suggestion 7

The Clock Is Ticking 9

Enough Already 33

The World's Best Eggs 44

My Wallabees 56

Nonnie's Rolling Pin 64

Love Cake 80

The Way Leon Looks at Me 92

Secret Ingredients 106

No Time Like Today 114

A Room with a View 121

The Twenty-One Gram Diet 132

Bubba and Beau 139

Blessings 151

My Mother's Recipe Box 161

Learning How to Listen 173

I Don't Know How Much Longer We Have 187

Scrolling Happy 198

A New Season 206

The Little Girl Needs a Hug 217

The House I Want to Die In 226

Learning to Love the Way I Am Today 235

Acknowledgments 241

Recipe Index 245

Customer Reviews

Explore More Items