B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!
Free at Last

Free at Last

by Free Free

CD(Remastered / Special Edition)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, July 1


Following Paul Rodgers' unsuccessful project titled Peace and Andy Fraser's ill-fated Toby, Free rebuilt themselves and released At Last in the summer of 1972. The band went right back to what they know best, with Rodgers bearing his blues-rock soul to Kossof's moody electric guitar. Tracks like "Sail On," "Soldier Boy," and "Travelling Man" come out on top as some of the band's most emotive material, proving that their breakup in 1971 had no real effect on their chemistry. "Little Bit of Love" was released in the U.K., peaking at number 13, while the album itself broke the Top Ten there, stalling at number 69 in the U.S. The band's mixture of laid-back blues and gritty, bare-boned rock & roll is as poignant and as expressive as it was on Tons of Sobs or Fire and Water, even though Paul Kossof's problems with drugs were beginning to be more and more evident. Eventually, Kossof's addiction affected the entire band, hindering Free's ability to go on tour to promote the album. After At Last, Andy Fraser left the group and created the band Sharks along with Chris Spedding, while Kossof was busy with his own Back Street Crawler project. After Kossof's death in 1976, John Bundrick re-joined along with Tetsu Yamauchi for 1973's Heartbreaker...Free's final release.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 04/14/2015
Label: Lmlr
UPC: 3700477822101
catalogNumber: 782210
Rank: 52161


  1. Catch a Train
  2. Soldier Boy
  3. Magic Ship
  4. Sail On
  5. Travelling Man
  6. Little Bit of Love
  7. Guardian of the Universe
  8. Child
  9. Goodbye
  10. Motlen Gold (Burnin')
  11. Honky Tonk Women
  12. Magic Ship
  13. Little Bit of Love
  14. Guardian of the Universe
  15. [Untitled]

Album Credits

Customer Reviews