Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More


by Slipknot Slipknot


by Slipknot Slipknot
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, February 10


To paraphrase an adage from the last century, out of the mouths of rubber-masked, livestock-threatening chaos-mongers often come gems -- especially if you're among those who share Slipknot's overriding philosophy that "People = Shit." The thrashing, gurgling nine-piece doesn't have much use for subtlety (or, truth be told, for melody or songcraft), but as this album proves, there's more to Slipknot than meets the eye. Death rattles and gnashing wails are the order of the day on most of the tracks, notably "Disasterpiece" and "Left Behind," but once you get beyond the clichéd raving, there's some interesting stuff going on here. Torrents of percussion, which rage on the brief intro "515" and "Metabolic," border on the avant-garde, and subtle interludes like the Goth-tinged "My Plague" and the moody, epic title track seem to give a peek behind the mask. And while the over-the-top scatology and blind hatred that permeate the lyrics run the gamut from the ridiculous to the inane, it's virtually impossible to discern what exactly this band is about -- white-hot suburban rage, or high-concept artistic critique? You be the judge. Iowa's top-notch packaging may give the nod; the fold-out lyric sheet is printed on art-festooned parchment. But unlike their closest competitors, the special-effects shop-cum-rock band GWAR, Slipknot betray no discernable sense of humor to leaven this ear-shredding spectacle.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 01/13/2008
Label: Roadrunner Uk
UPC: 8714221006209
catalogNumber: 1208564
Rank: 24451


  1. (515)
  2. People = Shit
  3. Disasterpiece
  4. My Plague
  5. Everything Ends
  6. The Heretic Anthem
  7. Gently
  8. Left Behind
  9. The Shape
  10. I Am Hated
  11. Skin Ticket
  12. New Abortion
  13. Metabolic
  14. Iowa

Album Credits

Customer Reviews