King of the Delta Blues Singers

King of the Delta Blues Singers

by Robert Johnson Robert Johnson
King of the Delta Blues Singers

King of the Delta Blues Singers

by Robert Johnson Robert Johnson

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record - Bonus Tracks / Special Edition / Spanish Import)

    Temporarily Out of Stock Online

    Sorry! Store Pickup is currently unavailable.


Reading about the power inherent in Robert Johnson's music is one thing, but actually experiencing it is another matter entirely. The official 1998 edition of the original 1961 album was certainly worth the wait, remastered off the best quality original 78s available, of far superior quality to any of the source materials used on even the 1991 box set. Johnson's guitar takes on a fullness never heard on previous reissues, and except for a nagging hiss in spots on "Terraplane Blues" (the equalization on this disc is extreme, to even sport some minute turntable rumble in the low end), this really brings his music alive. If there is such a thing as a greatest-hits package available on Johnson, this landmark album, which jump-started the whole '60s blues revival, would certainly be the one. The majority of Johnson's best-known tunes, the ones that made the legend, are all aboard: "Crossroads," "Walkin' Blues," "Me & the Devil Blues," "Come On In My Kitchen," and the apocalyptic visions contained in "Hellhound On My Trail" are the blues at its finest, the lyrics sheer poetry. And making its first appearance anywhere is a newly discovered (in 1998) alternate take of "Traveling Riverside Blues" that's appended to the original 16-track lineup. If you are starting your blues collection from the ground up, be sure to make this your very first purchase.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 01/25/2019
Label: Wax Time
UPC: 8436559465465
catalogNumber: 9465465
Rank: 4805


  1. Cross Roads Blues
  2. Terraplane Blues
  3. Come On in My Kitchen
  4. Walkin' Blues
  5. Last Fair Deal Gone Down
  6. 32-20 Blues
  7. Kind Hearted Woman Blues
  8. If I Had Possession Over Judgement Day
  9. I Believe I'll Dust My Broom
  10. Preachin' Blues
  11. When You Got a Good Friend
  12. Ramblin' on My Mind
  13. Stones in My Passway
  14. Traveling Riverside Blues
  15. Milkcow's Calf Blues
  16. Me and the Devil Blues
  17. Hellhound on My Trail
  18. Sweet Home Chicago

Album Credits

Customer Reviews