Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Loveboat Reunion

Loveboat Reunion

by Abigail Hing Wen

Narrated by Emily Woo Zeller

Unabridged — 11 hours, 33 minutes

Abigail Hing Wen
Loveboat Reunion

Loveboat Reunion

by Abigail Hing Wen

Narrated by Emily Woo Zeller

Unabridged — 11 hours, 33 minutes

Abigail Hing Wen

Audiobook (Digital)

$27.99
FREE With a B&N Audiobooks Subscription| Cancel Anytime
$0.00

Free with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription | Cancel Anytime

START FREE TRIAL

Already Subscribed? 

Sign in to Your BN.com Account


Listen on the free Barnes & Noble NOOK app

FREE

with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription

Or Pay $27.99

Overview

This companion novel to Abigail Hing Wen's New York Times bestselling debut, Loveboat, Taipei, takes readers back to Taipei through the eyes of fan favorites Sophie and Xavier-on an unforgettable journey of glittering revelry and self-discovery that's perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Mary H. K. Choi. 

Sophie Ha and Xavier Yeh have what some would call a tumultuous past.

Hearts were broken, revenge was plotted-but at least they're friends now. They left the drama behind them back in Taipei-at their summer program, Loveboat-forever.

Now that fall is here, they're focusing on what really matters. Sophie has sworn off boys and is determined to be the best student Dartmouth's ever had. Xavier just wants to stay under his overbearing father's radar, collect his trust fund when he turns eighteen, and concentrate on what makes him happy.

But the world doesn't seem to want Sophie and Xavier to succeed. Sophie's college professor thinks her first major project is “too feminine.” Xavier's father gives him an ultimatum: finish high school or be cut off from his inheritance.

Then Sophie and Xavier find themselves on a wild, nonstop Loveboat reunion, hatching a joint plan to take control of their futures. Can they succeed together . . . or are they destined to combust?

Praise for New York Times bestseller Loveboat, Taipei:

“A unique story from an exciting and authentic new voice.” -Sabaa Tahir, #1 New York Times bestselling author of An Ember in the Ashes

“Equal parts surprising, original, and intelligent. An intense rush of rebellion and romance.” -Stephanie Garber, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Caraval

“Fresh as a first kiss.” -Stacey Lee, award-winning author of Outrun the Moon

"Fresh, fun, heartfelt, and totally addictive, a story about finding your place-and your people-where you least expected." -Kelly Loy Gilbert, author of the William C. Morris Award finalist Conviction



Related collections and offers

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

An inspiring look at the strength of family and the importance of art, and how both can influence how we see ourselves and the world around us. Plus, it's just wonderfully romantic! I fell in love with Xavier, Sophie, and Loveboat all over again.” — Marissa Meyer, bestselling author of Instant Karma

“Loveboat Reunion is about the interplay between surface images and our true selves, about trying to figure out who we are in an image obsessed world, about the way people see us and how it can limit and entrap, and what it means when someone really actually sees you for who you are.” — — Anne Ursu, author of National Book Award long-listed novel The Lost Boy

"Like a mooncake—sweet, savory, and altogether satisfying."  — Kirkus Reviews

Praise for Loveboat, Taipei:  “Abigail Hing Wen’s LOVEBOAT, TAIPEI is a poignant and honest examination of first love, family obligations and that strange place between high school and college, where we don’t quite know who we are and as such, anything could happen. A unique story from an exciting and authentic new voice.” — Sabaa Tahir, #1 New York Times bestselling author of AN EMBER IN THE ASHES

“Equal parts surprising, original, and intelligent, Loveboat, Taipei is an intense rush of rebellion, romance, and complex family dynamics. If you’ve ever wanted to feel as if you’re breaking all the rules without actually breaking any rules then this is the book you need to read.”    — Stephanie Garber, #1 New York Times bestselling author of CARAVAL

“Not a ship, but a cultural phenomenon, get ready to board the Love Boat, where millions of Chinese Americans get their first taste of love and freedom. Abigail Hing Wen’s debut is fresh as a first kiss.”
—    — Stacey Lee, award winning author of OUTRUN THE MOON

Loveboat is a Crazy Rich Asians meets a Jane Austen comedy of manners—fresh, fun, heartfelt and totally addictive, a story about finding your place—and your people—where you least expected.”   — Kelly Loy Gilbert, Morris Award Finalist author of Conviction

“[Loveboat, Taipei] is a wonderful read and I find the book has just stayed with me. It has so much to say about being the child of immigrants, about gender and sexuality, about identity and what makes a home. Ever’s search to define herself, with all her intersecting identities, in a world that wants to define her is really beautifully wrought and lovely.”
— Anne Ursu, author of the National Book Award long listed novel The Lost Boy

“An entertaining and heartfelt debut that takes readers on a roller-coaster ride of romance and self-discovery.”  — Kirkus Reviews

“Ever's summer [turns] into one of love, mischief, and self-awakening that she will soon not forget… [but] It's Ever's resulting growth in the face of parental expectations and heartache that will resonate most with readers far and wide.” — Booklist

“Refreshing and exciting…YA readers will love the mix of romance, defiance, adventure, culture, and friendship.” — School Library Journal

“From tea eggs to snake blood sake, the energy of Taipei in the summer provides a winning backdrop to this joyful debut about a young American dancer who finds love and freedom by exploring her Taiwanese roots.” — Publishers Weekly

“There’s a sweetness to Ever’s rumspringa, and the hothouse atmosphere of Chien Tan, with its intense relationships and clever balance between respectability for parents and opportunistic freedom for their offspring, is deftly conveyed.”  — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

Kelly Loy Gilbert

Loveboat is a Crazy Rich Asians meets a Jane Austen comedy of manners—fresh, fun, heartfelt and totally addictive, a story about finding your place—and your people—where you least expected.”  

Anne Ursu

[Loveboat, Taipei] is a wonderful read and I find the book has just stayed with me. It has so much to say about being the child of immigrants, about gender and sexuality, about identity and what makes a home. Ever’s search to define herself, with all her intersecting identities, in a world that wants to define her is really beautifully wrought and lovely.”

Marissa Meyer

An inspiring look at the strength of family and the importance of art, and how both can influence how we see ourselves and the world around us. Plus, it's just wonderfully romantic! I fell in love with Xavier, Sophie, and Loveboat all over again.

Sabaa Tahir

Praise for Loveboat, Taipei:  “Abigail Hing Wen’s LOVEBOAT, TAIPEI is a poignant and honest examination of first love, family obligations and that strange place between high school and college, where we don’t quite know who we are and as such, anything could happen. A unique story from an exciting and authentic new voice.

Booklist

Ever's summer [turns] into one of love, mischief, and self-awakening that she will soon not forget… [but] It's Ever's resulting growth in the face of parental expectations and heartache that will resonate most with readers far and wide.

— Stacey Lee

Not a ship, but a cultural phenomenon, get ready to board the Love Boat, where millions of Chinese Americans get their first taste of love and freedom. Abigail Hing Wen’s debut is fresh as a first kiss.”

Stephanie Garber

Equal parts surprising, original, and intelligent, Loveboat, Taipei is an intense rush of rebellion, romance, and complex family dynamics. If you’ve ever wanted to feel as if you’re breaking all the rules without actually breaking any rules then this is the book you need to read.”   

Booklist

Ever's summer [turns] into one of love, mischief, and self-awakening that she will soon not forget… [but] It's Ever's resulting growth in the face of parental expectations and heartache that will resonate most with readers far and wide.

Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

There’s a sweetness to Ever’s rumspringa, and the hothouse atmosphere of Chien Tan, with its intense relationships and clever balance between respectability for parents and opportunistic freedom for their offspring, is deftly conveyed.” 

   — Stacey Lee

Not a ship, but a cultural phenomenon, get ready to board the Love Boat, where millions of Chinese Americans get their first taste of love and freedom. Abigail Hing Wen’s debut is fresh as a first kiss.”

Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

There’s a sweetness to Ever’s rumspringa, and the hothouse atmosphere of Chien Tan, with its intense relationships and clever balance between respectability for parents and opportunistic freedom for their offspring, is deftly conveyed.” 

Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

There’s a sweetness to Ever’s rumspringa, and the hothouse atmosphere of Chien Tan, with its intense relationships and clever balance between respectability for parents and opportunistic freedom for their offspring, is deftly conveyed.” 

Kirkus Reviews

2021-10-26
The antagonists of Loveboat, Taipei (2020) try to shed their old ways and show the world that they have something to offer.

Sophie Ha regrets her poor behavior during the Loveboat program, and she’s determined to be a better person as she starts college at Dartmouth. Familial pressure to marry well caused Sophie to prioritize romantic relationships above all else; now she plans to achieve success through studying AI. No more romance for her—especially not with Xavier Yeh, given their disastrous summer fling and current friendship. Meanwhile, in Los Angeles, Xavier is forced by his father, the CEO of a Taiwanese business empire, to repeat his senior year of high school. Xavier, who has dyslexia and dysgraphia, must obey in order to gain independence from a family that prioritizes its reputation above all else. A Mid-Autumn Festival celebration in Taipei presents an opportunity for both teens to advance toward their goals, but an accidental group chat message transforms the trip into an extravagant weekend reunion for Loveboat alums. This sequel highlights themes of personal growth and self-acceptance from the perspectives of two characters whose talents are frequently perceived as flaws by those around them. Amid schoolwork, last-minute event planning, and nail-biting family drama, Xavier and Sophie start to recognize their better selves...and also, perhaps, see a second chance at being together. Characters are mostly Taiwanese or Taiwanese American.

Like a mooncake—sweet, savory, and altogether satisfying. (cast of characters, assistive tools for dyslexia and dysgraphia) (Romance. 14-18)

Product Details

BN ID: 2940176092752
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 06/04/2022
Edition description: Unabridged

Customer Reviews