B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!
Man of the World: The Anthology 1968-1988

Man of the World: The Anthology 1968-1988

by Peter Green Peter Green

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record)



This double-disc overview collection of British super guitarist Peter Green is unique only for the limit of its focus and its seeming willy-nilly sequenced expression of it. If you're a fan, there isn't anything here you don't already have. By concentrating on a 20-year period -- and for most of that Green was lost in his own mind -- listeners get a solid selection of Green's creative genius with Fleetwood Mac, his spotty early solo records when his disintegration begins, and his tentative but still brilliant first return to music-making as well as a pair of sideman gigs with Bob Brunning's Sunflower Blues Band tossed in for good measure. There are only two live cuts in the batch, Boston Tea Party-era versions of "Black Magic Woman" and a cover of Duster Bennett's "Jumping at Shadows," and a wildly interspersed series of solo album cuts, Mac singles, and LP grooves like the juxtaposition of Green's "Lost My Love" with FM's "Fast Talking Woman Blues." In all, the only new thing here is the packaging and the inventive if problematic assemblage.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 11/16/2004
Label: Earmark
UPC: 8013252420429
catalogNumber: 42042
Rank: 36968


Disc 1

  1. Man of the World
  2. Long Grey Mare
  3. Cryin' Won't Bring You Back
  4. A Fool No More
  5. Trying to Hit My Head Against the Wall
  6. Last Train to San Antone
  7. Walkin' the Road
  8. Uranus
  9. Whatcha Gonna Do?
  10. Born on the Wild Side
  11. Lost My Love
  12. Fast Talking Woman Blues
  13. Long Way from Home
  14. Touch My Spirit
  15. Seven Stars
  16. Loser Two Times
  17. Oh Well
  18. If You Let Me Love You

Disc 2

  1. Jumping at Shadows
  2. Black Magic Woman
  3. Big Boy Now
  4. You Won't See Me Anymore
  5. Got to See Her Tonight
  6. Same Old Blues
  7. Showbiz Blues
  8. Ride With Your Daddy Tonight
  9. Tribal Dance
  10. Give Me Back My Freedom
  11. Bandit
  12. Baby, When the Sun Goes Down
  13. What Am I Doing Here?
  14. Shining Star
  15. Apostle
  16. Stranger Blues
  17. Lazy Poker Blues
  18. The Green Manalishi (With the Two Prong Crown)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews