B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!
The Minister's Wooing

The Minister's Wooing


View All Available Formats & Editions


From the author of Uncle Tom’s Cabin, a domestic comedy that examines slavery, Protestant theology, and gender differences in early America.

First published in 1859, Harriet Beecher Stowe’s third novel is set in eighteenth-century Newport, Rhode Island, a community known for its engagement in both religious piety and the slave trade. Mary Scudder lives in a modest farmhouse with her widowed mother an their boarder, Samuel Hopkins, a famous Calvinist theologian who preaches against slavery. Mary is in love with the passionate James Marvyn, but Mary is devout and James is a skeptic, and Mary’s mother opposes the union. James goes to sea, and when he is reportedly drowned, Mary is persuaded to become engaged to Dr. Hopkins.

With colorful characters, including many based on real figures, and a plot that hinges on romance, The Minister’s Wooing combines comedy with regional history to show the convergence of daily life, slavery, and religion in post-Revolutionary New England.

For more than seventy years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,700 titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust the series to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-date translations by award-winning translators. 

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780140437027
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 08/01/1999
Series: Penguin Classics Series
Pages: 384
Product dimensions: 5.10(w) x 7.70(h) x 0.90(d)
Age Range: 1 Year

About the Author

Harriet Beecher Stowe (1811-1896) was born in Litchfield, Connecticut, daughter of the Reverend Lyman Beecher of the local Congregational Church. In 1832, the family moved to Cincinnati, where Harriet married Calvin Ellis Stowe, a professor at the seminary, in 1836. The border town of Cincinnati was alive with abolitionist conflict and there Mrs. Stowe took an active part in community life. She came into contact with fugitive slaves, and learned from friends and from personal visits what life was like for the Negro in the South. In 1850, the Fugitive Slave Law was passed, and that same year Harriet’s sister-in-law urged the author to put her feelings about the evils of slavery into words. Uncle Tom’s Cabin was first published serially during 1851-52 in The National Era, and in book form in 1852. In one year more than 300,000 copies of the novel were sold. Mrs. Stowe continued to write, publishing eleven other novels and numerous articles before her death at the age of eighty-five in Hartford, Connecticut.

Susan K. Harris is Joyce and Elizabeth Hall Distinguished Professor of American Literature at the University of Kansas.

Date of Birth:

June 14, 1811

Date of Death:

July 1, 1896

Place of Birth:

Litchfield, Connecticut

Place of Death:

Hartford, Connecticut



Table of Contents

The Minister's Wooing

I Pre-Railroad Times 7

II The Kitchen 20

III The Interview 34

IV Theological Tea 46

V The Letter 70

VI The Doctor 87

VII The Friends and Relations of James 101

VIII Which Treats of Romance 118

IX Which Treats of Things Seen 135

X The Test of Theology 149

XI The Practical Test 165

XII Miss Prissy 178

XIII The Party 202

XIV Aaron Burr 208

XV The Sermon 229

XVI The Garret-Boudoir 239

XVII Polemics in the Kitchen 266

XVIII Evidences 276

XIX Madame de Frontignac 285

XX Tidings from Over Sea 298

XXI The Bruised Flax-Flower 307

XXII The House of Mourning 311

XXIII Views of Divine Government 318

XXIV Mysteries 336

XXV A Guest at the Cottage 358

XXVI The Declaration 382

XXVII Surprises 390

XXVIII The Betrothed 403

XXIX Bustle in the Parish 411

XXX The Quilting 420

XXXI An Adventure 438

XXXII Plain Talk 448

XXXIII New England in French Eyes 458

XXXIV Consultations and Confidences 466

XXXV Old Love and New Duty 479

XXXVI Jacob's Vow 488

XXXVII The Question of Duty 496

XXXVIII The Transfigured 510

XXXIX The Ice Broken 514

XL The Sacrifice 522

XLI The Wedding 528

XLII Last Words 538

Customer Reviews