Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More


by William Faulkner


by William Faulkner


$13.49 $17.95 Save 25% Current price is $13.49, Original price is $17.95. You Save 25%.

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


Mosquitoes is a satirical novel written by William Faulkner and was published in 1927. The novel is known for its critical portrayal of the bohemian lifestyle of artists and intellectuals in the 1920s, and it satirizes the attitudes and behavior of the characters in the story. The novel is also notable for its experimental style, incorporating stream-of-consciousness narration and shifting perspectives.

Mosquitoes is set primarily in New Orleans and on Lake Pontchartrain, with the story following a group of artists and intellectuals who embark on a four-day yacht trip on the Nausikaa

The lake is also infested with mosquitoes, which serve as a metaphor for the constant irritation and frustration that the characters feel throughout the story. The mosquitoes are also symbolic of the oppressive nature of the Southern landscape and its impact on the characters' psyche.

William Faulkner (1897-1962) was an American writer who is widely regarded as one of the most important and influential novelists of the 20th century. Born in New Albany, Mississippi, Faulkner spent most of his life in Oxford, Mississippi, where he drew inspiration from the people and landscapes of the American South.

Faulkner's writing is known for its complex and experimental style, its vivid descriptions of Southern life and culture, and its exploration of themes such as race, class, and the human condition. Some of his most famous works include "The Sound and the Fury", "As I Lay Dying," "Light in August" and "Absalom, Absalom!"

Throughout his career, Faulkner was recognized with numerous awards and honors, including the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1949. 

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781631498107
Publisher: Liveright Publishing Corporation
Publication date: 09/08/2020
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: eBook
Pages: 384
Sales rank: 27,910
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

William Faulkner (1897–1962) is the Nobel Prize–winning author of The Sound and the Fury and As I Lay Dying, among other works. These two novels were originally published by Liveright in the 1920s.

Date of Birth:

September 25, 1897

Date of Death:

July 6, 1962

Place of Birth:

New Albany, Mississippi

Place of Death:

Byhalia, Mississippi

Table of Contents

The First Day
The Second Day
The Third Day
The Fourth Day

Customer Reviews

Explore More Items