B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!
New York to Dallas (In Death Series #33)

New York to Dallas (In Death Series #33)

by J. D. Robb

Narrated by Susan Ericksen

Unabridged — 13 hours, 47 minutes

J. D. Robb

Audiobook (Digital)

Free with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription | Cancel Anytime

FREE With a B&N Audiobooks Subscription| Cancel Anytime

Free with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription | Cancel Anytime

View All Available Formats & Editions

Already Subscribed? 

Sign in to Your BN.com Account

Listen on the free Barnes & Noble NOOK app


with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription

Or Pay $19.99


It was one of Eve Dallas's earliest takedowns, back in her uniform days. A monster named Isaac McQueen had been abducting young victims and leaving them scarred in both mind and body. Thanks to Eve, he wound up where he belonged, removed from civilized society in Rikers. But he's not behind bars anymore.

After his escape, McQueen has two things in mind. One is to take up where he left off, preying on the young and innocent-when necessary, with the help of a female partner all too willing to be manipulated and to aid and abet his crimes. His other goal: to get revenge on the woman who stopped him all those years ago, now a high-profile lieutenant in the NYPSD and married to one of the city's richest men.

Commanding Eve's attention with a chilling and brazen crime, McQueen sets off the chase-forcing Eve down a road marked with blood and tears, a road that eventually leads southwest to Dallas, Texas, the home Eve fled long ago. And each new twist brings her closer to the harrowing memory of when she wasn't a hardened detective but a vulnerable girl just like McQueen's innocent prey. As her husband, Roarke, tries to rescue her from the nightmares that claw at her mind, and her partner, Peabody, doggedly works to support her, Eve must confront-and call upon-the darkest parts of her own soul in order to survive.

Related collections and offers

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly

Bestseller Robb breaks with one tradition in her 34th Eve Dallas novel (after Treachery in Death); "Death" is not part of the title, but otherwise she delivers precisely the kind of rapid-fire thrust and parry action fans expect from the near-future New York Police and Security Dept. homicide lieutenant. Serial rapist/murderer Isaac McQueen (aka "the Collector"), the first major bust of Dallas's when she was a rookie, escapes from New York City's Rikers Island prison complex 12 years into his life sentence and immediately resumes his depredations on young girls. McQueen uses a hostage to force Dallas to travel to Dallas, Tex., the site of her own horrific childhood, where he has prepared surprises for her. Working with the FBI, the Dallas PSD, and husband Roarke, Dallas leads the effort to recapture the wily McQueen. The deadly chess game between Dallas and McQueen plays out against multiple backgrounds, including shocking revelations from Dallas's past and the complex, passionate relationship of Roarke and Dallas. (Sept.)

From the Publisher

The always awesome Robb shakes up her long-running series and places her gutsy heroine Lt. Eve Dallas on a collision course with the past. Readers learn about the case that brought Eve and Feeney together while Eve battles a monster. Hang on tight, for Eve is about to face childhood nightmares that cut deeper and closer than she ever dreamed. Outstanding!”—RT Book Reviews

“The cat-and-mouse suspense when Eve and McQueen go up against each other is intense.”—Kirkus Reviews

“[Robb] delivers precisely the kind of rapid-fire thrust and parry action fans expect from the near-future New York Police and Security Dept. homicide lieutenant.”—Publishers Weekly

More Praise for the In Death series
“Robb is a virtuoso.”—Seattle Post-Intelligencer
“It’s Law & Order: SVU—in the future.”—Entertainment Weekly
“J. D. Robb’s In Death novels are can’t-miss pleasures.”—#1 New York Times bestselling author Harlan Coben
“Anchored by terrific characters, sudden twists that spin the whole narrative on a dime, and a thrills-to-chills ration that will raise the neck hairs of even the most jaded reader, the J. D. Robb books are the epitome of great popular fiction.”—New York Times bestselling author Dennis Lehane

Library Journal

In Eve Dallas's 33rd outing, she reencounters a serial killer who focuses on young girls and learns more about her mysterious past when she returns to Dallas, her city of origin. Susan Ericksen narrates this emotional episode in Robb's (aka Nora Roberts) long-running series.

Kirkus Reviews

Lt. Eve Dallas (Treachery in Death,2011, etc.) returns to her troubled roots when she goes up against a sex killer with a taste for tweens and a personal interest in her.

Twelve years after his life sentence for raping and imprisoning several of his alleged 27 victims, Isaac McQueen, aka the Collector, is on the loose again. After making his escape from Rikers Island, he returns to his old apartment, takes the couple renting it hostage and demands that Tray Schuster convey the news of his escape to Eve in person within an hour on pain of serious damage to his girlfriend Julie Kopeski. Tray's anguished visit is only the first of many episodes in which McQueen threatens the officer, who put him away, with a lingering, X-rated death. But he's not content simply to taunt his old nemesis. Sylvia Prentiss, the drug addict who helped him escape, outfits his latest torture chamber in faraway Dallas and helps stock it with fresh meat. McQueen's first victim is a familiar face: rape counselor Melinda Jones, who'd already been rescued once before from his clutches. His second is Darlie Morgansten, a 13-year-old who's more in his sexual line. Together with her megamillionaire husband Roarke, Eve flies to the city that gave her her name to confront both the monster she caged once before and the prison-house of her own tormenting childhood memories.

Roarke and his attendant computer wizards make so many vague, conveniently timed discoveries that the detection is never convincing. But the cat-and-mouse suspense when Eve and McQueen go up against each other is intense.


Product Details

BN ID: 2940169931884
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Publication date: 11/15/2019
Series: In Death (Eve Dallas) Series
Edition description: Unabridged

Customer Reviews