Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More

Audio CD

(Not eligible for purchase using B&N Audiobooks Subscription credits)
$31.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available for Pre-Order. This item will be available on September 27, 2022

Overview

A stand-alone companion to two-time Newbery Honor author Kevin Henkes’s award-winning, bestselling, and acclaimed The Year of Billy Miller and Billy Miller Makes a Wish. This short, humorous, and accessible novel for newly independent readers focuses on Billy’s younger sister, Sal, and what unfolds during an eventful holiday season at the Miller house.

Oh, Sal is illustrated in black-and-white throughout by the author, and is perfect for fans of Ramona, Ivy + Bean, and Dory Fantasmagory.

The Miller family is celebrating its first holiday with the new baby. Billy is excited that Uncle Jake is visiting, but nothing about this holiday season is making Billy’s little sister Sal happy. The baby is a noisy nuisance and hogging all of Mama’s attention. Plus, the baby doesn’t even have a name yet. To make matters worse, Sal lost the very best gift that Santa gave her!

Will Sal find her present? Will the Millers find a name for the baby? Will Billy always be an annoying big brother?

The holiday season (and life with the Millers) is full of surprises—and warmth, kindness, family, celebration, and love—in the hands of award-winning author Kevin Henkes. Illustrated throughout with black-and-white art by the author, Oh, Sal is an excellent choice for early elementary grades, as well as a terrific family and classroom read-aloud for any time of the year.

A stand-alone companion to The Year of Billy Miller (a Newbery Honor Book) and Billy Miller Makes a Wish



Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9798212036443
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 09/27/2022
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 5.70(h) x 0.00(d)
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author

Kevin Henkes has been praised both as a writer and as an illustrator and is the recipient of the Children’s Literature Legacy Award for his lasting contribution to literature for children. He received the Caldecott Medal for Kitten’s First Full Moon; Caldecott Honors for Waiting and Owen; two Newbery Honors—one for Olive’s Ocean and one for The Year of Billy Miller—and Geisel Honors for Waiting and Penny and Her Marble. His other books include Sun Flower Lion, A Parade of Elephants, Chrysanthemum, and the beloved Lilly’s Purple Plastic Purse. Kevin Henkes lives with his family in a house in Madison, Wisconsin.

Hometown:

Madison, Wisconsin

Date of Birth:

November 27, 1960

Place of Birth:

Racine, Wisconsin

Education:

University of Wisconsin, Madison

Customer Reviews