B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!

Audio MP3 on CD(MP3 on CD)

(Not eligible for purchase using B&N Audiobooks Subscription credits)
$41.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available for Pre-Order. This item will be available on September 27, 2022

Overview

A stand-alone companion to two-time Newbery Honor author Kevin Henkes’s award-winning, bestselling, and acclaimed The Year of Billy Miller and Billy Miller Makes a Wish. This short, humorous, and accessible novel for newly independent readers focuses on Billy’s younger sister, Sal, and what unfolds during an eventful holiday season at the Miller house.

Oh, Sal is illustrated in black-and-white throughout by the author, and is perfect for fans of Ramona, Ivy + Bean, and Dory Fantasmagory.

The Miller family is celebrating its first holiday with the new baby. Billy is excited that Uncle Jake is visiting, but nothing about this holiday season is making Billy’s little sister Sal happy. The baby is a noisy nuisance and hogging all of Mama’s attention. Plus, the baby doesn’t even have a name yet. To make matters worse, Sal lost the very best gift that Santa gave her!

Will Sal find her present? Will the Millers find a name for the baby? Will Billy always be an annoying big brother?

The holiday season (and life with the Millers) is full of surprises—and warmth, kindness, family, celebration, and love—in the hands of award-winning author Kevin Henkes. Illustrated throughout with black-and-white art by the author, Oh, Sal is an excellent choice for early elementary grades, as well as a terrific family and classroom read-aloud for any time of the year.

A stand-alone companion to The Year of Billy Miller (a Newbery Honor Book) and Billy Miller Makes a Wish



Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9798212036450
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 09/27/2022
Product dimensions: 5.30(w) x 7.50(h) x 0.00(d)
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author

Kevin Henkes has been praised both as a writer and as an illustrator and is the recipient of the Children’s Literature Legacy Award for his lasting contribution to literature for children. He received the Caldecott Medal for Kitten’s First Full Moon; Caldecott Honors for Waiting and Owen; two Newbery Honors—one for Olive’s Ocean and one for The Year of Billy Miller—and Geisel Honors for Waiting and Penny and Her Marble. His other books include Sun Flower Lion, A Parade of Elephants, Chrysanthemum, and the beloved Lilly’s Purple Plastic Purse. Kevin Henkes lives with his family in a house in Madison, Wisconsin.


Iva-Marie Palmer is the author of The Summers and The End of the World as We Know It. She grew up in Chicago’s south suburbs and now lives in Los Angeles with her husband.



Julienne Irons loves all things true crime but has a knack for creating fun voices, which makes her a great choice for children's books and adult novels. It's always fun for her to figure out where characters fit into the stories she gets to tell. She loves getting lost on adventures in inspiring riveting literary fiction, especially when the protagonist is either a woman or the story seeks to bring a voice to the voiceless. She's worked with the amazing Viola Davis on How to Get Away with Murder, Rob Lowe on Lone Star 911, and Nathan Fillion on The Rookie, and a number of other TV shows. With training from Tisch School of the Arts and various prestigious acting studios, she can bring any story to life with love and passion and truly enjoys the work she's so honored to create.

 


Jeremy Irons, winner of both an Oscar® and a Tony® has starred in such films as Dead Ringers, Reversal of Fortune, The French Lieutenant's Woman, and was the voice of Scar in The Lion King.

Hometown:

Madison, Wisconsin

Date of Birth:

November 27, 1960

Place of Birth:

Racine, Wisconsin

Education:

University of Wisconsin, Madison

Customer Reviews