B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!
Ordinary Grace

Ordinary Grace

by William Kent Krueger

Narrated by Rich Orlow

Unabridged — 11 hours, 2 minutes

William Kent Krueger

Audiobook (Digital)

Free with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription | Cancel Anytime

$23.49
FREE With a B&N Audiobooks Subscription| Cancel Anytime
$0.00

Free with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription | Cancel Anytime

$24.99 Save 6% Current price is $23.49, Original price is $24.99. You Save 6%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
START FREE TRIAL

Already Subscribed? 

Sign in to Your BN.com Account


Listen on the free Barnes & Noble NOOK app

FREE

with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription

Or Pay $23.49 $24.99

Overview

From "New York Times "bestselling author William Kent Krueger comes a brilliant new novel about a young man, a small town, and murder in the summer of 1961.
New Bremen, Minnesota, 1961. The Twins were playing their debut season, ice-cold root beers were at the ready at Halderson's Drug Store soda counter, and "Hot Stuff "comic books were a mainstay on every barbershop magazine rack. It was a time of innocence and hope for a country with a new, young president. But for thirteen-year-old Frank Drum it was a summer in which death assumed many forms.
When tragedy unexpectedly comes to call on his family, which includes his Methodist minister father, his passionate, artistic mother, Juilliard-bound older sister, and wise-beyond-his years kid brother, Frank finds himself thrust into an adult world full of secrets, lies, adultery, and betrayal.
On the surface, "Ordinary Grace" is the story of the murder of a beautiful young woman, a beloved daughter and sister. At heart, it's the story of what that tragedy does to a boy, his family, and ultimately the fabric of the small town in which he lives. Told from Frank's perspective forty years after that fateful summer, it is a moving account of a boy standing at the door of his young manhood, trying to understand a world that seems to be falling apart around him. It is an unforgettable novel about discovering the terrible price of wisdom and the enduring grace of God.


Related collections and offers

Editorial Reviews

Dennis Lehane

A pitch-perfect, wonderfully evocative examination of violent loss. In Frank Drum's journey away from the shores of childhood—a journey from which he can never return—we recognize the heartbreaking price of adulthood and it's 'wisdoms.' I loved this book.

PJ Coldren

I've lent my copy so many times I don't know where it is any more and will have to get another one. Phenomenal writing. Incredibly easy to read, which we all know means it was probably not incredibly easy to write, and the story stays long after the book is put down. I was awed by this book.

Washington Post

Krueger’s elegy for innocence is a deeply memorable tale.

Detroit News

...the tone is much like To Kill a Mockingbird, with its combination of dread and nostalgia.

ReviewingtheEvidence.com

My best read so far this year.

Historical Novel Society

I realized within pages this would be one of the best books I’ve read in recent years. The gathering threat and its consummation are satisfying and meaningful. This is an intelligent and compelling story told with great heart.... A perfect book club read, truly a book to love and read more than once. Absolutely recommended.

Beth Hoffman

Besides being a terrific story that examines a powerful range of human experiences and emotions, it was the authentic voice of the teenage narrator, Frank Drum, that kept me reading late into the night. Though the tone is quiet, Krueger artfully layered the story with suspenseful examinations of family life, death, fury, spiritual fiber and redemption.

Denver Post

Not often does a story feel at once fresh and familiar. But Ordinary Grace, a new novel from William Kent Krueger, is both, and it is affecting.

The Missourian

Ordinary Grace is engaging from the first page, a quiet novel that unfurls its sad story slowly, but eloquently, leaving its mark on your heart.

New York Journal of Books

A superb literary novel.

Minneapolis Star-Tribune

There’s such a quiet beauty in his prose and such depth to his characters that I was completely captivated.

BookPage

A thoughtful literary mystery that is wholly compelling and will appeal to fans of Dennis Lehane and Tom Franklin. . . Don’t take the title too literally, for Krueger has produced something that is anything but ordinary.

Huffington Post

Once in a blue moon a book drops down on your desk that demands to be read. You pick it up and read the first page, and then the second, and you are hooked. Such a book is Ordinary Grace. . . . This is a book that makes the reader feel better just by having been exposed to the delights of the story. It will stay with you for quite some time and you will always remember it with a smile.

BookReporter.com

One cannot read Ordinary Grace without feeling as if it is destined to be hailed as a classic work of literature. Ordinary Grace is one of those very rare books in which one regrets reaching its end, knowing that the experience of having read it for the first time will never be repeated. Krueger, who is incapable of writing badly, arguably has given us his masterpiece.

The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

Everything about this book, from language to ideas to Aeschylus’s epigram is beautiful and you’ll think about it long after you’re finished reading.

Capital Journal

Sometimes a work of fiction just comes to you, sits in your soul, touches your life experiences and then is hard to remember as fiction. Ordinary Grace by William Kent Kruger is such a novel."

Detroit News

...the tone is much like To Kill a Mockingbird, with its combination of dread and nostalgia.

Washington Post

Krueger’s elegy for innocence is a deeply memorable tale.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940171051105
Publisher: Recorded Books, LLC
Publication date: 12/16/2021
Edition description: Unabridged

Customer Reviews