Out of the Blue

Out of the Blue

by Jason June

Narrated by André Santana, Neo Cihi

Unabridged — 10 hours, 15 minutes

Jason June
Out of the Blue

Out of the Blue

by Jason June

Narrated by André Santana, Neo Cihi

Unabridged — 10 hours, 15 minutes

Jason June

Audiobook (Digital)

$27.99
FREE With a B&N Audiobooks Subscription| Cancel Anytime
$0.00

Free with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription | Cancel Anytime

START FREE TRIAL

Already Subscribed? 

Sign in to Your BN.com Account


Listen on the free Barnes & Noble NOOK app

FREE

with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription

Or Pay $27.99

Overview

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!

From Jason June, author of the breakout teen debut novel Jay's Gay Agenda, comes Out of the Blue, a stand-alone dual POV queer rom-com that asks if love is enough to change everything you've grown up believing. Perfect for fans of Cemetery Boys by Aiden Thomas and Deep Blue by Jennifer Donnelly. 

Crest is not excited to be on their Journey: the month-long sojourn on land all teen merfolk must undergo. The rules are simple: Help a human within one moon cycle and return to Pacifica to become an Elder-or fail and remain stuck on land forever. Crest is eager to get their Journey over and done with. Humans are disgusting. They've polluted the planet so much that there's a floating island of trash that's literally the size of a country.

In Los Angeles with a human body and a new name, Crest meets Sean, a human lifeguard whose boyfriend has recently dumped him. Crest agrees to help Sean make his ex jealous and win him back. But as the two spend more time together, and Crest's perspective on humans begins to change, they'll soon be torn between two worlds. And fake dating just might lead to real feelings . . .

This sophomore novel from Jason June dives into the many definitions of the word home and shows how love can help us find the truest versions of ourselves. 



Related collections and offers

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly

04/18/2022

Merperson Crest begrudgingly embarks on a rite of passage in June’s (Jay’s Gay Agenda) optimistic take on The Little Mermaid, a romance packed with subplots and classic rom-com tropes. Before merfolk can transition to adulthood, they have one month on land to help a human in need. If they succeed, they return to the ocean; if they fail, they stay on land forever. When Crest, now Ross, is transformed into a human and, confused and overwhelmed, washes up on a Santa Monica beach, they meet romance-obsessed lifeguard Sean. Luckily for Crest, Sean needs help winning back his former boyfriend, and the 16-year-olds, cued white, strike a deal: they’ll make Sean’s ex jealous by pretending to date. But as Sean introduces Crest to the beauty and magic of land society, Crest must reconcile their desire to return to the ocean and their growing love for Sean. Crest’s misinterpretations of land culture are endearing, and frank discussions of infidelity, emotional manipulation, sex, and depression are handled with honesty and empathy. In alternating first-person narrations that strike an unhurried pace, June hilariously highlights the often messy realism of interpersonal relationships, and uses that realistic grounding to build toward a true-to-life—rather than picture-perfect—conclusion. Ages 14–up. Agent: Brent Taylor, Triada US. (May)

From the Publisher

OUT OF THE BLUE is a hilarious and heart-warming modern update of The Little Mermaid. Splashy, voicey, and prescient, this fish-out-of-water tale (pun intended) is the perfect rom-com to have in your beach bag this summer.”
— Sarah Henning, author of the SEA WITCH duology

Out of the Blue is a sweet, sparkly story that'll make you smile so big your cheeks hurt! — Elise Bryant, author of Happily Ever Afters and One True Loves

Merfolk legends get a queer makeover. June’s approach to nonbinary gender as a central facet of merfolk culture, creates a fresh way to explore gender presentation and identity. An upbeat romantic fantasy with serious themes. — Kirkus Reviews

Jason June’s fast-paced sophomore novel will appeal to genre fans who didn’t fully understand Ariel’s decision to become human in The Little Mermaid. The world building around merfolk gender identity is both beautiful and deeply necessary for young readers. Fans of Jay’s Gay Agenda (2021) will connect with this sex-positive LGBTQIA+ merfolk story that is a delightfully fun summer read. — Booklist

Merperson Crest begrudgingly embarks on a rite of passage in June’s (Jay’s Gay Agenda) optimistic take on The Little Mermaid, a romance packed with subplots and classic rom-com tropes. June hilariously highlights the often messy realism of interpersonal relationships, and uses that realistic grounding to build toward a true-to-life—rather than picture-perfect—conclusion. — Publishers Weekly

Readers who are drawn to the whimsical premise will stay for its emotional truthfulness about the earth-shattering intensity of first, if not forever, love. — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

Booklist

Jason June’s fast-paced sophomore novel will appeal to genre fans who didn’t fully understand Ariel’s decision to become human in The Little Mermaid. The world building around merfolk gender identity is both beautiful and deeply necessary for young readers. Fans of Jay’s Gay Agenda (2021) will connect with this sex-positive LGBTQIA+ merfolk story that is a delightfully fun summer read.

Sarah Henning

OUT OF THE BLUE is a hilarious and heart-warming modern update of The Little Mermaid. Splashy, voicey, and prescient, this fish-out-of-water tale (pun intended) is the perfect rom-com to have in your beach bag this summer.”

Elise Bryant

Out of the Blue is a sweet, sparkly story that'll make you smile so big your cheeks hurt!

Booklist

Jason June’s fast-paced sophomore novel will appeal to genre fans who didn’t fully understand Ariel’s decision to become human in The Little Mermaid. The world building around merfolk gender identity is both beautiful and deeply necessary for young readers. Fans of Jay’s Gay Agenda (2021) will connect with this sex-positive LGBTQIA+ merfolk story that is a delightfully fun summer read.

School Library Journal

06/01/2022

Gr 9 Up—In this LGBTQIA+ and sex-positive stand-alone novel, Crest is a male-presenting Mer who goes on the traditional Mer Journey, above "the blue" to help a human on land for four weeks. During this time Mers have a choice to stay on the land and lose their tails forever, or return to the blue when their Journey is complete. When Crest's Journey becomes about helping handsome human Sean makes his ex jealous, Crest begins to wonder what life would be like on land forever. June once again brings readers refreshingly authentic teen hormones and emotions, while adding a queer spin on a classic dating trope. Crest does not have a gender, but is male-presenting, and Sean identifies as gay. Additionally, all of the secondary characters are LGBTQIA+. There are a few explicit sex scenes, though the characters remain safe and consensual, reaffirming the importance of both to teen readers. However, there are enough similarities to the author's debut title Jay's Gay Agenda (including lists throughout, similar naïve protagonists accidentally making a huge foolish hormone-fueled mistake, and the sex scenes taking an explicit turn out of nowhere) to wonder if the book has enough stand-alone merit; it is unclear if this is a stylistic choice or the author playing it safe. VERDICT While June is well on his way to being a must-read YA author, this book is not there yet. Recommended purchase for large collections and where LGBTQIA+ books are popular.—Elizabeth Portillo

Kirkus Reviews

2022-02-09
Merfolk legends get a queer makeover.

Told in alternating first-person points of view, the story kicks into action as two very different lives intersect when Los Angeles high school junior Sean, a recently dumped, rom-com–obsessed, aspiring film director and beach lifeguard, rushes to the aid of someone lying in the sand. But Ross, the person he rescues, is actually Crest, a mer who is embarking on a tradition from the ocean, or Blue: They must help a human by carrying out a selfless act during a full moon cycle spent on land before returning to life underwater. The two team up in a Hollywood-inspired fake-romance ploy to help Sean win back the attention of Dominic, the boy who dumped him for Sean’s former best friend, no less. As events unfold, Ross’ and Sean’s feelings become more real than scripted, and they both face truths that challenge their preconceptions. Despite the clear storyline, the pacing is uneven and the character development at times inconsistent. A core strength, however, is June’s approach to nonbinary gender as a central facet of merfolk culture, creating a fresh way to explore gender presentation and identity. Ross, Sean, and Dominic read as White; other characters reflect multiple ethnicities and queer identities, the former cued largely by names and physical descriptions.

An upbeat romantic fantasy with serious themes. (Romantic fantasy. 14-18)

Product Details

BN ID: 2940177131160
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 05/31/2022
Edition description: Unabridged

Customer Reviews