Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Permanent Record

Permanent Record

by Edward Snowden
Permanent Record

Permanent Record

by Edward Snowden


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, September 30



Edward Snowden, the man who risked everything to expose the US government’s system of mass surveillance, reveals for the first time the story of his life, including how he helped to build that system and what motivated him to try to bring it down.

In 2013, twenty-nine-year-old Edward Snowden shocked the world when he broke with the American intelligence establishment and revealed that the United States government was secretly pursuing the means to collect every single phone call, text message, and email. The result would be an unprecedented system of mass surveillance with the ability to pry into the private lives of every person on earth. Six years later, Snowden reveals for the very first time how he helped to build this system and why he was moved to expose it.

Spanning the bucolic Beltway suburbs of his childhood and the clandestine CIA and NSA postings of his adulthood, Permanent Record is the extraordinary account of a bright young man who grew up online—a man who became a spy, a whistleblower, and, in exile, the Internet’s conscience. Written with wit, grace, passion, and an unflinching candor, Permanent Record is a crucial memoir of our digital age and destined to be a classic.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781250772909
Publisher: Picador
Publication date: 09/01/2020
Pages: 352
Sales rank: 52,791
Product dimensions: 5.30(w) x 8.10(h) x 1.00(d)
Age Range: 13 - 17 Years

About the Author

Edward Snowden was born in Elizabeth City, North Carolina, and grew up in the shadow of Fort Meade. A systems engineer by training, he served as an officer of the Central Intelligence Agency, and worked as a contractor for the National Security Agency. He has received numerous awards for his public service, including the Right Livelihood Award, the German Whistleblower Prize, the Ridenhour Prize for Truth-Telling, and the Carl von Ossietzky Medal from the International League of Human Rights. Currently, he serves as president of the board of directors of the Freedom of the Press Foundation.

Table of Contents

Preface 1

Part 1

1 Looking Through the Window 11

2 The Invisible Wall 19

3 Beltway Boy 33

4 American Online 39

5 Hacking 51

6 Incomplete 61

7 9/11 69

8 9/12 77

9 X-Rays 83

10 Cleared and in Love 93

Part 2

11 The System 105

12 Homo contractus 111

13 Indoc 121

14 The Count of the Hill 137

15 Geneva 149

16 Tokyo 163

17 Home on the Cloud 187

18 On the Couch 203

Part 3

19 The Tunnel 213

20 Heartbeat 219

21 Whistleblowing 227

22 Fourth Estate 241

23 Read, Write, Execute 255

24 Encrypt 265

25 The Boy 275

26 Hong Kong 287

27 Moscow 299

28 From the Diaries of Lindsay Mills 311

29 Love and Exile 325

Acknowledgments 337

Customer Reviews

Explore More Items