Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More


by The Animals The Animals


by The Animals The Animals


$13.29 $18.99 Save 30% Current price is $13.29, Original price is $18.99. You Save 30%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, August 19


Initially, the Animals' Retrospective looks like just another greatest-hits compilation recycling the same old tracks already easily available elsewhere. Yawn! Yet, on closer inspection, there's a big difference with this particular set. These 22 tracks are taken from the ABKCO masters and utilize Direct Stream Digital (DSD), containing both CD and Super Audio CD layers. ABKCO initially previewed this technology with much fanfare on the Rolling Stones' reissues of 2003. That excellence is again applied here and the material undeniably sparkles. The first incarnation of the band with Mickie Most's production is represented by what have to be the cleanest recordings heard yet of favorites like "House of the Rising Sun," "Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood," "We Gotta Get Out of This Place," and "Don't Bring Me Down." However, it's the psychedelic phase of the band, when they became Eric Burdon & the Animals, that the DSD really kicks. Every nuance present, and sometimes hidden, on a song like "San Franciscan Nights," or "Monterey," in which the horns noticeably jump out at you, or the battle sequence on "Sky Pilot," is incredibly vivid whether you're using high-tech gear or an average playback unit. Even if you've heard these tracks a zillion times, this ABKCO release gets you as close to hearing studio playback as you're likely to get!

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 07/20/2004
Label: Abkco
UPC: 0018771932529
catalogNumber: 719325
Rank: 22214


  1. House of the Rising Sun
  2. I'm Crying
  3. Baby Let Me Take You Home
  4. Gonna Send You Back to Walker
  5. Boom Boom
  6. Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood
  7. Bring It on Home to Me
  8. We Gotta Get Out of This Place
  9. It's My Life
  10. Don't Bring Me Down
  11. See See Rider
  12. Inside, Looking Out
  13. Hey Gyp
  14. Help Me Girl
  15. When I Was Young
  16. A Girl Named Sandoz
  17. San Franciscan Nights
  18. Monterey
  19. Anything
  20. Sky Pilot
  21. White Houses
  22. Spill the Wine

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Animals   Primary Artist
Lee Oskar   Harmonica,Musician
John Weider   Guitar,Violin,Musician
Lonnie Jordan   Organ,Musician
Alan Price   Organ,Piano,Keyboards,Musician
Danny McCulloch   Bass,Musician
Hilton Valentine   Guitar,Musician
Eric Burdon   Vocals,Musician
Thomas R. Allen   Percussion,Musician
Vic Briggs   Guitar,Piano,Vibes,Musician
Harold Brown   Drums,Musician
Bryan James Chandler   Bass,Musician
Barry Jenkins   Percussion,Drums,Musician
Horace Ott   Conductor
Dave Rowberry   Organ,Musician
John Steel   Drums,Musician
Charles Miller   Flute,Musician
Howard H. Scott   Guitar,Musician
Morris Dickerson   Bass,Musician
Royal Scots Guard Pipe And Drum Marching Band   Bagpipes,Percussion,Musician

Technical Credits

John Lee Hooker   Composer
Sam Cooke   Composer
Carole King   Composer
Lee Oskar   Composer
John Weider   Composer
Gerry Goffin   Composer
Barry Mann   Composer
Alan Price   Composer
Larry Weiss   Composer
Danny McCulloch   Composer
Alan Lomax   Composer
Eric Burdon   Composer
Ma Rainey   Composer
Papa Dee Allen   Composer
Roger Atkins   Composer
Bennie Benjamin   Composer
Jim Bessman   Liner Notes,Essay
Vic Briggs   Arranger,Composer,Remixing
Harold Brown   Composer
B.B. Dickerson   Composer
Scott English   Composer
Wes Farrell   Composer
Jerry Goldstein   Producer,Audio Production
Jack Hunt   Engineer
Chris Huston   Engineer
Barry Jenkins   Composer
Iris Keitel   Art Direction
Eddie Kramer   Engineer,Remixing
Mickie Most   Producer,Audio Production
Horace Ott   Arranger
Steve Rosenthal   Archives Coordinator
Dave Rowberry   Arranger
Howard Scott   Composer
Dave Siddle   Engineer
Cynthia Weil   Composer
Tom Wilson   Producer,Audio Production
Gary Kellgren   Remixing
Charles Miller   Composer
Don Paulsen   Cover Photo
Bert Russell   Composer
Gus Skinas   Engineer
Alisa Ritz   Art Direction
Lenne Allik   Concept
Johnnie Mae Matthews   Composer
Sol Marcus   Composer
Gloria Caldwell   Composer
Dick Bogart   Engineer
Scott Jordan   Composer
Donovan Leitch   Composer
Maria Papazahariou   Session Research
Teri Landi   Producer
Every One Of Us   Producer
Ed Hadani   Engineer
Jody H. Klein   Producer

Customer Reviews