Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Sarah, Plain and Tall

Sarah, Plain and Tall

by Patricia MacLachlan
Sarah, Plain and Tall

Sarah, Plain and Tall

by Patricia MacLachlan

Paperback

$7.99
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, October 5

Overview

This beloved Newbery Medal–winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family.

Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?

This children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love.

This anniversary edition includes author Patricia MacLachlan's Newbery speech, a discussion guide, and a reading list. This modern classic is a strong choice for independent reading.

Read the rest of the Sarah books by Patricia MacLachlan: Skylark, Caleb’s Story, More Perfect than the Moon, and Grandfather’s Dance.



Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062399526
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 03/03/2015
Series: Sarah, Plain and Tall Series , #1
Pages: 112
Sales rank: 9,800
Product dimensions: 4.90(w) x 7.40(h) x 0.60(d)
Lexile: 650L (what's this?)
Age Range: 6 - 10 Years

About the Author

Patricia MacLachlan (1938-2022) was the celebrated author of many timeless books for young readers, including Sarah, Plain and Tall, winner of the Newbery Medal. She was also the author of many beloved picture books, a number of which she cowrote with her daughter, Emily.

Customer Reviews

Explore More Items