Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Seasons of the Heart

Seasons of the Heart

by Lois Duncan
Seasons of the Heart

Seasons of the Heart

by Lois Duncan


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, August 18


Lois Duncan is known for award-winning suspense novels, such as I Know What You Did Last Summer. Few people know she has led a secret second life as a poet. From early childhood, Lois chronicled events of her life in verse. At ten, she began submitting her poetry to magazines.

Since then, Lois has written hundreds of magazine articles and forty-eight books. She is the recipient of the "Margaret A. Edwards Award", presented by the American Library Association for an "outstanding contribution to literature for young adults". Renowned as a novelist, she kept her poetry notebooks tucked away in a drawer "like a secret vice".

Generations of readers who grew up on "Lois Duncan" books have been urging her to write her autobiography. That task seemed formidable until she began to leaf through those notebooks. There, she found herself in every season of her life-a dreamy child, entranced by fairies and magic; an adolescent, embroiled in turbulent romances; a busy young wife and mother; a heartsick divorcee; a remarried, middle-aged housewife, watching children leave the nest; and then, as a grief-stricken mother, struggling to cling to sanity after the murder of her youngest child.

Seasons of the Heart is the deeply personal story of an "ordinary woman", told in an extraordinary way.

"It was with a strong sense of kinship that I read Seasons of the Heart. The romanticism of the young girl; the passions, frustrations and heartbreak of motherhood; the quiet joys of aging, all are captured in the deft and disciplined cadence of poetry."-Lois Lowry, twice winner of the Newbery Award

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780595427659
Publisher: iUniverse, Incorporated
Publication date: 02/28/2007
Pages: 100
Sales rank: 869,415
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.24(d)

About the Author

The author of bestsellers like Stranger with My Face, The Third Eye, and Daughters of Eve, Lois Duncan (1936-2016) was an undisputed master of young adult suspense books. Several of her books have been adapted into movies, most notably I Know What You Did Last Summer, which was followed by two sequels. Duncan also wrote Who Killed My Daughter?, a non-fiction book about the murder of her daughter.

Customer Reviews