B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!
Shake Down/Getting to the Point

Shake Down/Getting to the Point

by Savoy Brown Savoy Brown


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, July 8


BGO brings together the first two Savoy Brown albums in this double-disc set to great effect. Much of Shake Down, recorded in 1968, has been forgotten -- which is easy to do given that virtually the entire band turned over after its release, including singer Bryce Portius who was replaced on Getting to the Point by the great Chris Youlden. On the former album, Portius relies on the early Yardbirds philosophy to try and phrase like the great bluesmen -- from Howlin' Wolf to John Lee Hooker. It doesn't actually work. On the latter set, Youlden, with bassist Tony Stevens, drummer Roger Earle, second guitarist Kim Simmonds and bandleader Lonesome Dave Peverett, dug deep into songwriting and interpreting the blues their own way. Youlden's totally unusual voice made that possible whether he was singing a standard such as Muddy Waters' "Honey Bee," or Willie Dixon's "You Need Love" or the smoky , steamy original tunes like "Flood in Houston," and "Mr. Downchild." Hopefully this means that BGO -- one of the coolest labels in the reissue biz -- will be bring out remastered versions of all the Savoy Brown classics.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 12/06/2005
Label: Bgo - Beat Goes On
UPC: 5017261206770
catalogNumber: 677
Rank: 35262


Disc 1

  1. I Ain't Superstitious
  2. Let Me Love You Baby
  3. Black Night
  4. High Rise
  5. Rock Me Baby
  6. I Smell Trouble
  7. Oh, Pretty Woman
  8. Little Girl
  9. The Doormouse Rides the Rails
  10. It's My Own Fault
  11. Shake 'Em on Down

Disc 2

  1. Flood in Houston
  2. Stay with Me Baby
  3. Honey Bee
  4. The Incredible Gnome Meets Jaxman
  5. Give Me a Penny
  6. Mr. Downchild
  7. Getting to the Point
  8. Big City Lights
  9. You Need Love

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Savoy Brown   Primary Artist
Bob Hall   Piano
Chris Youlden   Vocals
Ray Chappell   Bass Guitar
Roger Earle   Drums
Rivers Jobe   Bass Guitar
Lonesome Dave Peverett   Rhythm Guitar
Kim Simmonds   Guitar
Martin Stone   Guitar
Leo Mannings   Drums
Dave Peverett   Guitar
Brice Portius   Vocals
Ray Chappell   Bass Guitar

Technical Credits

John Lee Hooker   Composer
Mike Vernon   Producer,Audio Production
Chris Youlden   Composer
Roy Baker   Engineer
Gus Dudgeon   Engineer
Neil Slaven   Liner Notes
John O'Regan   Liner Notes
Traditional   Composer

Customer Reviews