Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Something Strange and Deadly (Something Strange and Deadly Series #1)

Something Strange and Deadly (Something Strange and Deadly Series #1)

by Susan Dennard

Narrated by Emily Woo Zeller

Unabridged — 10 hours, 41 minutes

Susan Dennard
Something Strange and Deadly (Something Strange and Deadly Series #1)

Something Strange and Deadly (Something Strange and Deadly Series #1)

by Susan Dennard

Narrated by Emily Woo Zeller

Unabridged — 10 hours, 41 minutes

Susan Dennard

Audiobook (Digital)

$27.99
FREE With a B&N Audiobooks Subscription| Cancel Anytime
$0.00

Free with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription | Cancel Anytime

START FREE TRIAL

Already Subscribed? 

Sign in to Your BN.com Account


Listen on the free Barnes & Noble NOOK app

FREE

with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription

Or Pay $27.99

Overview

The first audiobook in the Something Strange and Deadly trilogy, perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare's Infernal Devices series.

Sixteen-year-old Eleanor Fitt's brother is missing. After discovering the Dead are rising and wreaking havoc in Philadelphia, she knows her brother is involved.

So Eleanor enlists the help of the Spirit-Hunters. This motley crew, hired to protect the city from supernatural forces, is after the necromancer who has been reanimating corpses. Their skills can save her brother. Yet as Eleanor spends time with the Spirit-Hunters and their handsome inventor, Daniel, the situation becomes dire. Now, not only is her reputation at risk, but her very life hangs in the balance.

In Something Strange and Deadly, Susan Dennard weaves together beautifully imagined scenes of action, adventure, and vivid Victorian life to create an entertaining steampunk tapestry of humor, horror, and romance. Listeners will be intrigued from the start.



Related collections and offers

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly

In Victorian-era Philadelphia, 16-year-old Eleanor Fitt worries more about “hungry and dangerous” reanimated corpses than about parasols and corsets. In this first book in a trilogy, debut author Dennard deftly weaves together a vast plot involving social status, spirits, zombies, necromancy, romance, and pseudoscience. Eleanor’s brother, Elijah, never returns home from New York City, instead sending a cryptic letter ripe for deciphering. As the dead rise and acquaintances are murdered, Eleanor fears for Elijah’s life. Looking for answers, she sneaks off to find the Spirit-Hunters, a group of eccentric teenagers, at the 1876 International Centennial Exhibition. Meanwhile, Eleanor’s mother is trying to marry her off to wealthy and connected Clarence Wilcox, but feisty Eleanor can’t shake her nagging feelings about him—or about a ragtag Spirit-Hunter genius named Daniel. In a swirling, rib-tickling story, Eleanor displays both good sense and the bravery to fight evil and remain free from the tyranny of high society. Blending historical fiction, horror, romance, and mystery, Dennard creates a roaring—and addictive—gothic world. Ages 13–up. Agent: Joanna Stampfel-Volpe, New Leaf Literary & Media. (Aug.)

From the Publisher

Thrilling, charming, and dark, Something Strange and Deadly is a delicious sandwich of harmonious flavors. I fell for Daniel, I soaked in the zombie mayhem with glee, I delighted in the steampunk fashion and gadgetry. If you enjoyed The Clockwork Angel, you’ll love this. Fantastical fun.” — Marie Lu, author of the LEGEND trilogy

“This debut novel is quite compelling and features a plot that moves at breakneck speed. The plot is full of action, betrayal, and romance.” — Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

“Mystery, romance, humor, action, a sure-fire setting: Dennard delivers.” — Kirkus Reviews

“Debut author Dennard deftly weaves together a vast plot blending historical fiction, horror, romance, and mystery. A roaring-and addictive-gothic world.” — Publishers Weekly

“From the first page, readers will be awakened to an 1876 Philadelphia replete with animated corpses, irresistible romance and a game of intrigue. Those who enjoy Cassandra Clare’s the Infernal Devices series will be spellbound by Dennard’s macabre and impressive debut.” — Shelf Awareness

A wonderfully brisk pace sweeps readers into an intriguing mystery. Eleanor serves as a highly entertaining guide and readers will find themselves settling in among the undead just fine. — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

This debut novel is quite compelling and features a plot that moves at breakneck speed. The plot is full of action, betrayal, and romance.

Marie Lu

Thrilling, charming, and dark, Something Strange and Deadly is a delicious sandwich of harmonious flavors. I fell for Daniel, I soaked in the zombie mayhem with glee, I delighted in the steampunk fashion and gadgetry. If you enjoyed The Clockwork Angel, you’ll love this. Fantastical fun.

Shelf Awareness

From the first page, readers will be awakened to an 1876 Philadelphia replete with animated corpses, irresistible romance and a game of intrigue. Those who enjoy Cassandra Clare’s the Infernal Devices series will be spellbound by Dennard’s macabre and impressive debut.

Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

A wonderfully brisk pace sweeps readers into an intriguing mystery. Eleanor serves as a highly entertaining guide and readers will find themselves settling in among the undead just fine.

Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

A wonderfully brisk pace sweeps readers into an intriguing mystery. Eleanor serves as a highly entertaining guide and readers will find themselves settling in among the undead just fine.

Melissa - Mysteries on Mainstreet

Oh. My. God. IN LOVE! This book takes the walking dead to a whole new level! This whole book keeps you on the edge of your seat… chewing your nails waiting to see what is going to happen next…This book is a MUST read.

bookseller at Mysteries on Mainstreet Melissa

Oh. My. God. IN LOVE! This book takes the walking dead to a whole new level! This whole book keeps you on the edge of your seat… chewing your nails waiting to see what is going to happen next…This book is a MUST read.

The Bulletin for the Center for Children's Books

A wonderfully brisk pace sweeps readers into an intriguing mystery. Eleanor serves as a highly entertaining guide and readers will find themselves settling in among the undead just fine.

School Library Journal

Gr 8 Up—This novel is a cool mixture of Victorian mystery/romance and zombie story. It makes for a sort of steampunk feel. It has suspense and is a mystery in the lightest sense of the word but the fun is in its blending of genres with the cosseted elite mixing with the zombie hordes. Eleanor Fitt is in a troublesome spot. Her brother is missing, her mother refuses to acknowledge the sorry state of their finances and is trying to marry her off to the highest bidder, and the dead are walking. She goes to the Spirit-Hunters determined to find out what really happened to her brother. Instead of answers she finds more questions: Why are the Spirit-Hunters here? Are they causing the trouble with the dead, or are they simply patsies? And, more importantly, why is everyone associated with her brother dying in such a dramatic way? Eleanor is strong willed and inquiring, and the situations mirror the Victorian sensibilities well. Give this novel to anyone who likes a light zombie story with a pinch of romance.—Saleena L. Davidson, South Brunswick Public Library, Monmouth Junction, NJ

Kirkus Reviews

Zombies strike the 1876 Philadelphia World's Fair. Eleanor Fitt--of the Philadelphia Fitts--wants nothing more than for her brother to return from his three-year odyssey abroad. She and her dear Mama have just about run out of funds, and she misses Elijah terribly. So when a shambling Dead gives her a note from him telling her he's been detained, she is mightily distressed. The next day, the determined teen is off for some help from the Spirit-Hunters who have set up shop at the International Centennial Exhibition. Once readers accept Eleanor's casual response to the animated corpses--she recovers awfully quickly from her initial close encounter--they are in for an enjoyably breathless, if slightly disgusting romp. Her can-do attitude finds her at one point systematically disabling a throng of zombies by smashing their kneecaps with her parasol. Mystery, romance, humor, action, a sure-fire setting: Dennard delivers. The romance is less a triangle than a straight line, as readers will instantly spot Eleanor's best match, but that doesn't make it any less enjoyable. Two of the Spirit-Hunters, the Creole magician at its head and a de-sexed Chinese girl who disguises herself as a boy, are more stereotypes than fully realized characters, but there is room for them to grow in the sequel. Readers who can look past the gloomily generic paranormal cover will find themselves pleasantly occupied. (Paranormal historical fiction. 12 & up)

Product Details

BN ID: 2940169979923
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 06/04/2022
Series: Something Strange and Deadly Series , #1
Edition description: Unabridged

Customer Reviews