Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
The Dead of Winter: Three Giordano Bruno Novellas

The Dead of Winter: Three Giordano Bruno Novellas

by S. J. Parris


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, July 7


Three exhilarating novellas—The Secret Dead, The Academy of Secrets, and The Dead of Winter—following the early adventures of young priest Giordano Bruno in the dramatic days of sixteenth century Italy.

Even the dead have a story to tell . . .

Naples, 1566. During a sweltering summer, eighteen-year-old Giordano Bruno takes his final vows at San Domenico Maggiore and is admitted to the Dominican Order—despite doubts over his tendency to ask difficult questions.

Assisting in the infirmary, Bruno witnesses an illicit autopsy performed on the body of a young woman. Her corpse reveals a dark secret, and Bruno suspects that hers may not have been an accidental death.

His investigation leads him to a powerful figure who wants to keep the truth buried—and Bruno is forced to make a choice between his future in the Order, and justice for an innocent victim and her grieving family . . .

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781643136547
Publisher: Pegasus Books
Publication date: 12/01/2020
Series: Giordano Bruno Thriller Series
Pages: 352
Sales rank: 417,607
Product dimensions: 6.10(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

S. J. Parris is the pseudonym of Stephanie Merritt. Since graduating from Cambridge, she has worked as a critic for a variety of newspapers and magazines as well as for radio and television. She currently writes for the Guardian in London and is the author of five novels in the Giordano Bruno mystery series. Visit S. J. Parris at

Customer Reviews

Explore More Items