Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
The Essential Fleetwood Mac

The Essential Fleetwood Mac

The Essential Fleetwood Mac

The Essential Fleetwood Mac

CD(Remastered / Australian Import)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, March 23


This double-CD set may well mislead listeners on two counts. On the one hand, there will be some neophyte listeners expecting to hear the silky pop
ock strains of the Lindsey Buckingham/Stevie Nicks-era Fleetwood Mac. This is, indeed, the original version of the band organized in 1967 by virtuoso blues guitarist/singer Peter Green, in which the latter shared the spotlight with fellow guitarist Jeremy Spencer, and they got no closer to pop
ock than renditions of Howlin' Wolf and B.B. King material. But even for listeners aware of the history of the band represented here, the "essential" will probably require some qualification -- Sony/BMG's license on Fleetwood Mac's early library only encompasses the two years of recordings (1967-1969) that they made for Mike Vernon's Blue Horizon label; those recordings, especially the debut album and the singles "Black Magic Woman" and "The Green Manalishi," were hugely popular in England but were little more than cult items in America; most pointedly, they did not include the somewhat more diverse music that this version of the group cut for Warner Bros. in 1969-1971, at the tail-end of Green's tenure with the band. So even those listeners expecting the bluesy side of the group's history may be a little disappointed by the absence of anything here from that portion of their history that was widely distributed -- at Blue Horizon, the group tended to plays and record nothing but blues, which ultimately limited even Green's creativity. Having said that, however, it should also be conceded that this set is probably the best overview of the group's Blue Horizon output that one is ever likely to find, containing virtually the entire debut album (a classic in any context) as well as the hit singles they generated, and filled out with the less-inventive but still worth hearing second album, all in state of the art sound. And unlike the six-CD Complete Blue Horizon Sessions set, this double-disc compilation contains only the finished, released masters, cleanly edited with no false starts and other digressions. So even if one already owns Blue Horizon box, this is a worthwhile acquisition. And the makers have also thrown in a handful of superb live tracks -- featuring Willie Dixon, Buddy Guy, and Otis Spann from the group's Blues Jam in Chicago album. The annotation is surprisingly thorough, though whoever designed this set should have gone up one font in the type-face, for the benefit of the older listeners to whom this release will primarily appeal. Would-be American purchasers should also note that, because Sony's license on this material is limited to Europe, this set is an import to the United States and, thus, tends to be a bit pricier than the conventional domestic issues in the label's "Essential" series.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 08/07/2007
Label: Sony/Bmg Int'l
UPC: 0886971053920
catalogNumber: 710539
Rank: 74444


Disc 1

  1. Black Magic Woman
  2. Albatross
  3. Long Grey Mare
  4. No Place to Go
  5. Merry Go Round
  6. Watch Out
  7. My Baby's Good to Me
  8. Looking for Somebody
  9. Coming Home
  10. World's in a Tangle
  11. If You Be My Baby
  12. Worried Dream
  13. Trying So Hard to Forget
  14. Need Your Love Tonight
  15. I Loved Another Woman
  16. Love That Burns

Disc 2

  1. Dust My Broom
  2. Rollin' Man
  3. Lazy Poker Blues
  4. I Believe My Time Ain't Long
  5. Shake Your Money Maker
  6. Cold Black Night
  7. Got to Move
  8. Stop Messin' Around
  9. Rockin' Boogie
  10. Talk with You
  11. Doctor Brown
  12. Jigsaw Puzzle Blues
  13. Like Crying
  14. The World Keep on Turning
  15. My Heart Beat Like a Hammer
  16. Need Your Love So Bad

Album Credits

Customer Reviews