B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!
The Light We Left Behind

The Light We Left Behind

by Tessa Harris

NOOK BookePub edition (eBook - ePub edition)

$3.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

England: 1944

When psychologist Maddie Gresham is sent a mysterious message telling her to report to Trent Park mansion, she wonders how she will be helping the war effort from a stately home.
 
Having signed the official secrets act, she soon finds captured Nazi generals are being detained at the house. Bugged with listening devices in every room, it’s up to Maddie to gain the Nazis’ trust and coax them into giving up information.
 
When Max Weitzler, a Jewish refugee, also arrives at Trent Park with the same mission, Maddie finds herself trapped in a dangerous game of chess.

The two met in Germany before the war, and Maddie’s heart was his from the moment they locked eyes. The hope that Max had escaped the Nazi threat was her guiding light in the darkness of war.

But Maddie has finally gained the trust of the Nazi officers at the house, and her love for Max must remain a secret.

As Hitler’s bombs destroy more and more English towns, it is up to Maddie to make one of the captured officers talk – at any cost.

But when there’s a shocking death at the mansion, Maddie realises that not everyone at Trent Park is on the same side.
 
When the walls have ears, who can you trust?

Based on the true events that took place at Trent Park during WWII, this is an emotionally gripping, and heart-breaking novel about love, sacrifice, and betrayal, perfect for fans of The Rose Code and The Lost Girls of Paris.

Readers LOVE Tessa Harris!

An amazing story with great characters and a very deep love that will transcend the pages of the book. It is a book that will make you feel, hopeful, faithful, and sometimes angry that humans can be so cruel.’Reader review,⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

This really is a special book. Fast-paced and beautifully written, it'll stay with me for a long time.’Reader review,⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

A great read, I had to finish it in one sitting…!’ – Reader review,⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐



Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780008494858
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 12/03/2021
Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 384
Sales rank: 2,817
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

TESSA HARRIS read History at Oxford University and has been a journalist, writing for several national newspapers and magazines for more than thirty years. She is the author of nine published historical novels. Her debut, The Anatomist’s Apprentice, won the Romantic Times First Best Mystery Award 2012 in the US. She lectures in creative writing at Hawkwood College, Stroud and is married with two children. She lives in the Cotswolds.
Social Media
Facebook: Tessa Harris Author
Twitter:@harris_tessa
www.tessaharrisauthor.com

Customer Reviews

Explore More Items