The Original Fleetwood Mac [Columbia Bonus Tracks]

The Original Fleetwood Mac [Columbia Bonus Tracks]

The Original Fleetwood Mac [Columbia Bonus Tracks]

The Original Fleetwood Mac [Columbia Bonus Tracks]


    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, June 9

    Sorry! Store Pickup is currently unavailable.


As far as odds and ends packages go, Original Fleetwood Mac (1971) is an undeniably strong collection culled primarily from the band's first incarnation, featuring John McVie (bass/guitar), Mick Fleetwood (drums), Peter Green (guitar/vocals), and Jeremy Spencer (guitar/piano/vocals). As evidenced by the material, this quartet are an unmistakably blues-based combo. Early on they distinguished themselves as not only interpreters of traditional fare, but skilled composers, especially Green, who penned the vast majority of these selections. While their entire output during this era can be found on the six-disc Complete Blue Horizon Sessions: 1967-1969 (1999), the best of those secondary sides are contained within this disc. Green's total envelopment of the blues, coupled with equally inspired guitar craft, illuminate the traditional "Drifting" and "First Train Home," as well as an adventurous, hopped-up cover of Muddy Waters' "Rollin' and Tumblin'," titled "Rambling Pony No. 2." "Watch Out" reveals Fleetwood Mac's decidedly jazzier visage. While the driving upbeat rhythm is deeply rooted in a Chicago-style delivery, Green's fretwork is undeniably fresh, giving the outing fuel for the combo's fiery contributions. "A Fool No More" is another notable variation and possible harbinger of their later psychedelic ventures. The instrumental "Fleetwood Mac" sounds as if it may have been taken from a jam session already in progress. The adaptation of Arthur "Big Boy" Crudup's "Mean Old Fireman" offers an acoustic pseudo-slide lead from Green, but ultimately it fails to truly ignite. B.B. King's "Worried Dream" is an interesting choice that would show up later in the band's concurrent concert repertoire. [Columbia's 2004 reissue adds a bunch of outtakes and bonus tracks.]

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 09/07/2004
Label: Sony/Bmg Int'l
UPC: 5099751644828
catalogNumber: 516448
Rank: 100191


  1. Drifting
  2. Leaving Town Blues
  3. Watch Out
  4. A Fool No More
  5. Mean Old Fireman
  6. Can't Afford to Do It
  7. Fleetwood Mac
  8. Worried Dream
  9. Love That Woman
  10. Allow Me One More Show
  11. First Train Home
  12. Rambling Pony No. 2
  13. Watch Out
  14. Something Inside of Me
  15. Something Inside of Me
  16. Something Inside of Me
  17. One Sunny Day
  18. Without You
  19. Coming Your Way

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Fleetwood Mac   Primary Artist
Mick Fleetwood   Bongos,Drums,Background Vocals,Washboard,Group Member
Danny Kirwan   Guitar,Vocals
Jeremy Spencer   Guitar,Piano,Vocals,Group Member
John McVie   Bass,Drums,Bass Guitar,Background Vocals,Group Member
Christine Perfect   Piano,Guest Appearance,Group Member

Technical Credits

Danny Kirwan   Composer
Jeremy Spencer   Composer
Mike Vernon   Producer,Liner Notes
Homesick James Williamson   Composer
Peter Green   Composer
B.B. King   Composer
Lafayette Leake   Composer
Terence Ibbott   Cover Photo
Bernie O'Gormon   Remixing

Customer Reviews