Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
The Very Best of Christopher Cross

The Very Best of Christopher Cross

by Christopher Cross Christopher Cross
The Very Best of Christopher Cross

The Very Best of Christopher Cross

by Christopher Cross Christopher Cross


$7.99 $12.99 Save 38% Current price is $7.99, Original price is $12.99. You Save 38%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, August 11


Christopher Cross had a long career, but he peaked early. His eponymous first album produced four Top 20 hits, highlighted by "Sailing," and won five Grammys -- a record at the time. His streak continued with "Arthur's Theme (Best That You Can Do)," a collaboration with Burt Bacharach, Peter Allen, and Carole Bayer Sager that served as the theme for Dudley Moore's smash Arthur. Cross delivered a second album, Another Page, that sounded similar to the first and sold respectably well until it generated a genuine hit with "Think of Laura," thanks to General Hospital adopting it as a love theme for their Luke and Laura plot line. After that, Cross slipped away, although he released another five albums between that record and 2002's compilation, The Very Best of Christopher Cross. The problem with this compilation is that it doesn't take into consideration that early peak -- it treats each album with equal respect, with as many songs taken from 1998's Walking in Avalon and Red Room as from 1983's Another Page. While this may satisfy the artist and the die-hards who have listened with dedication over the years, those who loved the warm soft rock of the albums -- either as a guilty pleasure or without shame -- will find this collection profoundly disappointing, since after the eighth track, the collection takes a sharp turn toward fussy, sterile adult contemporary production, and it's never as pleasing to the ear as those first eight songs. This is a problem, because the collection succeeds in one respect (providing a comprehensive history) while failing in another (being an enjoyable listen). Though some will undoubtedly like this approach to Cross' career, most will wish that the compilers took Cross' early peak into account, since this collection would have been much more enjoyable.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 03/05/2002
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0081227833527
catalogNumber: 78335
Rank: 3592


  1. Ride Like the Wind
  2. Sailing
  3. Never Be the Same
  4. Say You'll Be Mine
  5. Arthur's Theme (Best That You Can Do)
  6. All Right
  7. Think of Laura
  8. No Time for Talk
  9. Every Turn of the World
  10. I Will (Take You Forever)
  11. A Chance for Heaven (Swimming Theme)
  12. Swept Away
  13. Loving Strangers (David's Theme)
  14. Is There Something
  15. Open Up My Window
  16. Back of My Mind
  17. Walking in Avalon
  18. When She Smiles
  19. Hunger

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Christopher Cross   Primary Artist,Solo Instrumental,Guitar,Vocals
Eric Johnson   Electric Guitar
Michael McDonald   Background Vocals,Track Performer
Vesta   Background Vocals
Victor Feldman   Percussion
Tom Scott   Solo Instrumental,Saxophone
Nicolette Larson   Background Vocals
Rob Meurer   Synthesizer,Keyboards,Electric Piano
Stormie Omartian   Background Vocals
Joe Chemay   Bass
Michael Baird   Drums
Curt Bisquera   drum overdubs
Alexandra Brown   Background Vocals
Robbie Buchanan   Keyboards,Synthesizer Bass
Lenny Castro   Percussion
Paulinho Da Costa   Percussion,Conga
Assa Drori   Concert Master
Nathan East   Bass
Chuck Findley   Trumpet
Scott Frankfurt   Musician
Steve Gadd   Drums
Claude Gaudette   Keyboards
Khaliq Glover   Background Vocals
Gary Grant   Trumpet
Jay Graydon   Solo Instrumental,Electric Guitar
Portia Griffin   Background Vocals
Gary Herbig   Saxophone
Jerry Hey   Trumpet
David Hungate   Bass
Kim Hutchcroft   Saxophone
Abraham Laboriel   Bass
Patrick Leonard   Keyboards
Steve Lukather   Solo Instrumental,Guitar,Electric Guitar
Richard Marx   Background Vocals
Myrna Matthews   Background Vocals
Marty McCall   Background Vocals
Judd Miller   Solo Instrumental,Evi
Michael Omartian   Synthesizer,Piano,Keyboards
Tollak Ollestad   Harmonica
Jeff Porcaro   Drums
Mike Porcaro   Bass
John "J.R." Robinson   Drums
Andy Salmon   Bass
Tommy Taylor   Drums,Track Performer
Marty Walsh   Track Performer
Ernie Watts   Saxophone
Jerry Jey   Track Performer
Michael Hart Thompson   Guitar
Frances Ruffelle   Vocals
Gigi Worth   Vocals
D.A.C.   Track Performer
Chris Ralles   Drums
E.V.I.   Track Performer

Technical Credits

Christopher Cross   Arranger,Composer
Jeremy Lubbock   String Arrangements
Carole Bayer Sager   Composer
Rob Meurer   Arranger,Composer
Michael Vail Blum   Engineer
Hugh Brown   Art Direction
Terry Christian   Engineer
Paul Dieter   Engineer
Steve Dorff   Producer
Tom Fouce   Engineer
Scott Frankfurt   Producer
Claude Gaudette   drum programming
John Guess   Engineer
Lee Herschberg   Engineer
Chet Himes   Engineer
Bill Inglot   Producer
Dennis Lambert   Producer
Patrick Leonard   Producer
Mark Linett   Engineer
Richard Mullen   Engineer
Michael Omartian   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements
Gary Peterson   Discographical Annotation
Daniel Protheroe   Engineer
Doug Rider   Engineer
Jeremy Smith   Engineer
Gabe Veltri   Engineer
Frank Wolf   Engineer
Mark Casselman   Engineer,Remixing
Shawn Amos   Liner Note Coordination
Bill Johnson's Louisiana Jug Band   Engineer
Tony Phillips   Engineer

Customer Reviews