Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
The Younger Wife

The Younger Wife

by Sally Hepworth

Narrated by Barrie Kreinik, Caroline Lee, Jessica Douglas-Henry, Zoe Carides

Unabridged — 9 hours, 18 minutes

Sally Hepworth
The Younger Wife

The Younger Wife

by Sally Hepworth

Narrated by Barrie Kreinik, Caroline Lee, Jessica Douglas-Henry, Zoe Carides

Unabridged — 9 hours, 18 minutes

Sally Hepworth

Audiobook (Digital)

$23.99
FREE With a B&N Audiobooks Subscription| Cancel Anytime
$0.00

Free with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription | Cancel Anytime

$26.99 Save 11% Current price is $23.99, Original price is $26.99. You Save 11%.
START FREE TRIAL

Already Subscribed? 

Sign in to Your BN.com Account


Listen on the free Barnes & Noble NOOK app

FREE

with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription

Or Pay $23.99 $26.99

Overview

"Mysteries drive this satisfyingly twisty tale by Hepworth, whose work may remind you of Liane Moriarty's...the effect is amplified by the talented cast, which includes Caroline Lee, who narrates Moriarty's audiobooks." -- The Providence Journal

Sally Hepworth, the newest breakout star of domestic suspense, delivers her next twisty novel about family secrets and lies in The Younger Wife.

Stephen Aston is getting married again. The only problem is, he's still married to his first wife, even though she is in a care facility for dementia. But he'll take care of that easily, by divorcing her-even if his adult daughters protest.

Tully and Rachel Aston look upon Heather as nothing but an interloper. Heather is the same age as Rachel and even younger than Tully. Clearly she's a golddigger and after their father's money. Heather has secrets that she's keeping close, and reasons of her own for wanting to marry Stephen.

With their mother unable to speak for herself, Tully and Rachel are determined to get to the truth about their family's secrets, the new wife closing in, and who their father really is. But will getting to the truth unleash the most dangerous impulses...in all of them?

A Macmillan Audio production from St. Martin's Press.



Related collections and offers

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly

01/10/2022

In this appealing domestic suspense novel from bestseller Hepworth (The Good Sister), Pamela Aston’s two adult daughters, Tully and Rachel, are already reeling at the swiftness of the Melbourne, Australia, homemaker’s deterioration with early-onset Alzheimer’s when their cardiac surgeon father, Stephen, blindsides them with another bombshell—his plan to divorce Pam, who’s soon moved to a nursing home, and marry interior designer Heather Wisher, who’s younger than either sister. Further shocks await Rachel, a gorgeous plus-size baker who by her own account eats her feelings, as well as Tully, the always anxious mother of two little boys, as they try to figure out how seriously to take Pam’s occasional utterances suggesting that life with Stephen may have had a darker side. Meanwhile, the surprisingly sympathetic Heather starts to question her wedding plans—and possibly her sanity—now that she’s living with Stephen full-time. The toxic secrets each woman has been hiding, a surprise romance, and the small fortune Rachel discovers in her mother’s hot water bottle nicely complicate the fast-moving plot. This often funny and affecting outing should win Hepworth new fans. Agent: Rob Weisbach, Rob Weisbach Creative Management. (Apr.)

From the Publisher

CNN.com's May Most Anticipated list

"Smart, suspenseful, brimming with secrets. This is Sally Hepworth at her unputdownable best." —Kate Morton, New York Times Bestselling Author

"Completely compulsive. Sally Hepworth delivers with this stay-up-late one-more-chapter gem." —Jane Harper, New York Times Bestselling Author

"A warped tale [that] boasts Jane Harper’s multilayered characters and Liane Moriarty’s wealthy suburban world saturated with lies and deceit. With each domestic thriller, best-selling Hepworth shines brighter and draws in more readers." —Booklist

"[An] appealing domestic suspense novel from bestseller Hepworth [with a] fast-moving plot. This often funny and affecting outing should win Hepworth new fans." —Publisher's Weekly

"Hepworth — author of “The Good Sister” and “The Family Next Door — deftly weaves a detailed family story into a fast-paced thriller." —The Washington Post

"So dysfunctional are Hepworth’s characters that they make the Sopranos resemble the Waltons...A rollicking good read that values plot and characterization equally, The Younger Wife incisively explores the causes of psychological disturbances hidden by well constructed façades." — Free Lance-Star

Library Journal

★ 04/18/2022

Hepworth's latest novel (following The Good Sister) begins at the wedding of Stephen Aston, a respected heart surgeon in South Australia, and the much younger Heather Wisher. It seems perfect—surrounded by Stephen's daughters Rachel and Tully, family, friends, even his ex-wife, Pamela—until, just after the ceremony, there is a scream, a thud, and the celebrant emerges pale and bloody. A series of flashbacks from the points of view of Heather, Rachel, and Tully reveal shocking secrets that unravel the ersatz perfect family and threaten a carefully constructed façade that someone may be willing to do anything to protect. Hepworth weaves the struggles of dementia, sexual assault, anxiety, and domestic abuse into the lives of realistic, likable characters that readers will be rooting for. VERDICT As much a mystery as a character study of three young women coping with love, loss, and trauma while struggling with the discovery of being deceived by the one they count on most. This title will appeal to fans of Jamie Brenner, Jodi Picoult, and Celeste Ng.—George Lichman

Product Details

BN ID: 2940176473018
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Publication date: 04/16/2022
Edition description: Unabridged

Related Subjects

Customer Reviews