B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!
When You Look Like Us

When You Look Like Us

by Pamela N. Harris

Paperback

$10.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, June 30

Overview

“A high-speed story that will draw teens in and keep them turning pages until they reach the unpredictable and thrilling ending. A must for YA collections.” (School Library Journal)

A 2022 NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Literary Work nominee and a 2022 Edgar Award nominee, this timely, gripping teen novel is about a boy who must take up the search for his sister when she goes missing from a neighborhood where Black girls’ disappearances are too often overlooked, from debut author Pamela Harris. Perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Tiffany D. Jackson.

When you look like us—brown skin, brown eyes, black braids or fades—everyone else thinks you’re trouble. No one even blinks twice over a missing Black girl from public housing because she must’ve brought whatever happened to her upon herself. I, Jay Murphy, can admit that, for a minute, I thought my sister Nicole just got caught up with her boyfriend—a drug dealer—and his friends. But she’s been gone too long. Nic, where are you?

If I hadn’t hung up on her that night, she would be at our house, spending time with Grandma.

If I was a better brother, she’d be finishing senior year instead of being another name on a missing persons list.

It’s time to step up, to do what the Newport News police department won’t.

Bring her home.

Also a 2022 ILA Notable Book for a Global Society Award winner!



Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062945907
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 02/08/2022
Pages: 368
Sales rank: 80,821
Product dimensions: 5.30(w) x 7.90(h) x 0.70(d)
Age Range: 14 - 17 Years

About the Author

Pamela N. Harris was born and somewhat raised in Newport News, Virginia—also affectionately known as “Bad News.” A former school counselor by day, she received her BA in English and her master’s in school counseling at Old Dominion University, her MFA in creative writing at Fairleigh Dickinson University, and a PhD in counselor education and supervision at The College of William & Mary. When she isn’t writing, Pam is rewatching Leonardo DiCaprio movies, chasing after her two kiddos, and pretending to enjoy exercising. When You Look Like Us is her debut novel. She lives in Williamsburg, Virginia.

Customer Reviews

Explore More Items